Brimstone Bound (Firebrand #1), by Helen Harper | Book Review

Welcome to Adele Is Reading.
Today I have my book review of:

Brimstone Bound, by Helen Harper.

Brimstone Bound is the first book in the Firebrand series.

TW: Throat Slitting, Self Harm mentions, Murder mentions, Stalking mentions, Blood & Gore mentions, Murder, Drugging, Hanging, Strangulation mentions, Suicide mentions.

**If you have any sort of trigger for the above mentions, I HIGHLY suggest you don’t read Brimstone Bound. The details pertaining to this book, the scenes that included these, you DO NOT want to read.**

A werewolf killer. A paranormal murder. How many times can Emma Bellamy cheat death?

I’m one placement away from becoming a fully fledged London detective. It’s bad enough that my last assignment before I qualify is with Supernatural Squad. But that’s nothing compared to what happens next.

Brutally murdered by an unknown assailant, I wake up twelve hours later in the morgue – and I’m very much alive. I don’t know how or why it happened. I don’t know who killed me. All I know is that they might try again.

Werewolves are disappearing right, left and centre.

A mysterious vampire seems intent on following me everywhere I go.

And I have to solve my own vicious killing. Preferably before death comes for me again.

All in all Brimstone Bound was an….interesting book. There’s only one point of view, and the main character is straight to the point. Which I make a note of because sometimes I just like the characters I read to be blunt as fuck, you know? Like, get to the point. We have bad guys to beat up.

Something else that was a great refresher for me reading BB was that there’s actually no sex scenes in the story at all. So that was nice!

I’ve noted down that in this first book, BB, the main character wasn’t really “looked” into, but I thought that perhaps that would change in the second book. And if not, getting to know the main character would be some sort of side quest. Which doesn’t really at all make sense; reading a book series where we don’t really get to know anything of / about / the history of the MC.

With that said though, there’s a certain vampire in Brimstone Bound that’s romantically interested in the main character. I found the vamp’s interest kind of obvious. To be fair though, I haven’t read BB in over a year and a half, so, take everything I’ve said with a grain of salt. *not the trigger warnings though*

I ended up giving Brimstone Bound, 2 stars.

Have you read Brimstone Bound?

Thank you for stopping by.

See you soon, and happy reading.
Adele

WHERE TO FIND ME:

Instagram | Goodreads | Twitter

MY SHOP:

Cozy Library | cozylibrarycreations @ Instagram

Leave a comment