Evermore, by Candace Wondrak | Book Review

Hello hello, friendo. Welcome back to Adele Is Reading.

How are you? Do you have anything interesting / fun planned for the weekend? I think this weekend calls for staying inside, cozy and warm.

Today I have my book review of the final book in the Crystal Lake Pack trilogy; Evermore, by Candace Wondrak.

Evermore is the third (and final) book in the Crystal Lake Pack trilogy.

TRIGGER WARNING: Attempted Rape, Blood, Torture, Sex scenes.

There are spoilers for the series within the synopsis, and therefore my review as well.

Continue reading

Heart of Malice, by Lisa Edmonds | Book Review

Hey friend! Welcome back to Adele Is Reading.

How are you?

Today’s post is my book review of Heart of Malice, by Lisa Edmonds.

Heart of Malice is the first book in the Alice Worth series, which has 7 books (and a few novellas!).

The first time Moses Murphy’s granddaughter killed on his orders, she was six years old.

For twenty years, she was a prisoner of an organized crime syndicate, forced to use her magic to make Moses the most powerful and feared man on the East Coast. To escape his cruelty, she faked her own death and started a new life as Alice Worth. As a private investigator specializing in cases involving the supernatural, Alice walks a precarious line between atoning for the sins of her grandfather’s cabal and keeping her true identity hidden.

Hired to investigate the disappearance of a mysterious object of power, Alice enlists the help of Malcolm, a ghost running from a past as nightmarish as her own. It soon becomes clear the missing object was taken by someone with a dangerous secret and an unknown agenda. When her client is kidnapped, Alice must find her and the object of power before a vengeful killer destroys the city and slaughters thousands—starting with Alice.

Trigger Warnings: Torture Mention, Murder mention, Blood Letting, Blood, Self Harm mention(s), sex scenes.

Continue reading