December Wrap Up & #ReadWomen Final Update

Hello! If you didn’t know, for the month of December there was a reading challenge over on tumblr. The sole purpose of this challenge was to only read books written by women, in support of women. I’m actually writing this as a December Wrap Up to save time and energy.

The books I read this past month have all written by women! I usually read books what are written by females anyway, but still. – These are the books that I’ve read for the Read Women challenge (all books are listed in the order that I read them): Continue reading

Made You Up by Francesca Zappia | Book Review #48

17661416

‘Reality, it turns out, is often not what you perceive it to be–sometimes, there really is someone out to get you. Made You Up tells the story of Alex, a high school senior unable to tell the different between real life and delusion. This is a compelling and provoking literary debut that will appeal to fans of Wes Anderson, Silver Linings Playbook, and Liar.

Alex fights a daily battle to figure out the difference between reality and delusion. Armed with a take-no-prisoners attitude, her camera, a Magic 8-Ball, and her only ally (her little sister), Alex wages a war against her Schizophrenia, determined to stay sane long enough to get into college. She’s pretty optimistic about her chances until classes begin, and she runs into Miles. Didn’t she imagine him? Before she knows it, Alex is making friends, going to parties, falling in love, and experiencing all the usual rites of passage for teenagers. But Alex is used to being crazy. She’s not prepared for normal.’

Ok, honestly? This book broke me. Made You Up starts with a memory that Alex has. This memory proves to be important later on.

There are so many great parts to this book. AKA, all of it. I love this book. Which is surprising, because I didn’t think that I would. There are so many emotions in this book, and I love how Zappia portrayed these characters. Continue reading

The Bookish Alphabet | Tag

After scouring wordpress for the pass few days looking for bookish tags to do, I came across The Bookish Alphabet tag! I’ve originally saw it off of KinmSiang’s WordPress account, and I decided to do this tag since I’ve been wanting to diversify my blog a little. Do more stuff on this blog aside from book reviews all the time. So without further do: The Bookish Alphabet tag!

The Rules for this tag are:
Pick a book that is on your shelf or one that you have read in the past and fill out each letter of the Alphabet. The idea is to use books that you have either read or that are on your TBR list.

Seems easy! Continue reading