The Girl From Blind River, by Gale Massey | {ARC} Book Review #394

**Disclaimer: I received an Advanced Reader Copy from the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This in no way impacted my review.**

36472797A gritty tale of how far we’ll go to protect the ones we love for fans of Daniel Woodrell’s Winter’s Bone and Emma Cline’s The Girls from Gale Massey, a talented new name in crime fiction.

Everyone says the Elders family are nothing but cheats, thieves, and convicts—a fact nineteen-year old Jamie Elders has been trying desperately to escape. She may have the natural talent of a poker savant, but her dreams of going pro and getting the hell out of the tiny town of Parsons, New York are going nowhere fast. Especially once she lands in a huge pile of debt to her uncle Loyal.

At Loyal’s beck and call until her debt is repaid, Jamie can’t easily walk away—not with her younger brother Toby left at his mercy. So when Loyal demands Jamie’s help cleaning up a mess late one night, she has no choice but to agree. But disposing of a dead man and covering up his connection to the town’s most powerful judge goes beyond family duty. When it comes out that the victim was a beloved athlete and Loyal pins the murder on Toby, only Jamie can save him. But with a dogged detective on her trail and her own future at stake, she’ll have to decide: embrace her inner criminal, or defy it—and face the consequences.


Publication Date: July 10, 2018.

I ended up marking The Girl From Blind River as Did Not Finish at 16%.

I was very excited to read The Girl From Blind River precisely because this book is a Mystery that genuinely interested me. Going into reading this novel I kept my expectations low. I didn’t want to end up not liking this book, just because there’s so much potential that I might’ve actually ended up enjoying The Girl From Blind River.

Drawn in by the interesting cover, I felt like I could really read The Girl From Blind River–especially because of that intriguing synopsis!

However, once I started reading Jamie’s story I almost immediately realized that Jamie’s story just wasn’t for me. Other people seemed to have loved it, which is great. I just couldn’t cope with how depressed Jamie was in the beginning, since it was triggering my own depression.

Happy Reading!
— Adele

May 2018 Wrap Up & Book Haul

Hello! Today’s post will be my monthly wrap up for May. As you can see by the title, haha. I also ended up buying quite a few books, so check those out as well!

IMG_5901Knowing that I probably wouldn’t stick to it, I actually came up with a TBR this month!

My TBR for May included: The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson, A Court of Frost and Starlight by Sarah J. Maas, Under the Empyrean Sky by Chuck Wendig, The Demon King by Cinda Williams Chima, Second Chance Summer by Morgan Matson, and finally, A Gathering of Shadows by V.E. Schwab.

I ended up reading way more books that I thought I would’ve this month, since May is typically one of the busiest months of the year for me. Yet I ended up reading 08 books, and 10 manga. Not bad if I do say so myself! Continue reading

State of the ARC #4 | May ’18

State-of-the-ARC

STATE OF THE ARC MEME

State of the ARC is a monthly meme at Avalinah’s Books meant to motivate you to finish up all your long overdue ARCs(Advanced or Early Reader Copies). You can track your reading progress and link up with your own post. Most commonly it comes out on the 30th of every month.

I told myself that I wouldn’t request any arcs this month… I already have enough to last me a long while, and believe me, I am working on it. This ARC pile I have is continuing work in progress. Yet there are too many interesting books out there! Too many! ..So I ended up requesting a few books. The ARCs I happily received this May are:

Continue reading