Oath Taker, by Audrey Grey | Book Review

Hello friends! Today I have a book review.

I’m reviewing, Oath Taker by Audrey Grey.

Oath Taker is the first book in the Kingdom of Runes series.

TW: Self Harm, mention of a dead sibling, mention of a dead parent, slavery mention, abuse (flashbacks), abuse mention, murder mention.

MENTIONS OF SPOILERS. 

pink leaf divider

44163860._SY475_Perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Emily R. King, this first book in a dark and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

Light magic is forbidden.
Dark magic spells death.
Haven has both.


After the Prince of Penryth saved her from captivity, seventeen-year-old Haven Ashwood spends her days protecting the kind prince and her nights secretly fighting the monsters outside the castle walls.

When one of those monsters kidnaps Prince Bell, Haven must ally with Archeron Halfbane and his band of immortals to rescue her friend.

Her quest takes her deep into the domain of a warped and vicious queen where the rules are simple: break her curse or die.

Lost in a land of twisted magic and fabled creatures, Haven finds herself unprepared, not just for the feelings she develops for Archeron, but for the warring powers raging inside her.

Her rare and forbidden type of magic may be their only hope . . . but mixing light and dark comes with a steep price.

Haven’s soul.

Faced with impossible love, heartbreaking betrayals, and a queen intent on destroying the realm, only one thing remains certain.

Haven must shatter the curse or it will devour everything she loves.

Welcome to the Kingdom of Runes where immortals and humans clash, light and dark magic reign, and mythical creatures lurk in the shadows. If you like fierce heroines, enemies-to-lovers romance, wild plot twists, and endearing characters that stay with you long after you reach the end, you need to discover the book readers are calling dark fantasy at its best. Just make sure to clear out some space on your calendar first!

**Oath Taker was previously published in the boxed set Shattered Worlds under the name Curse Breaker. This is a revised second edition. The Kingdom of Runes series is upper/mature YA and contains mild cursing and adult situations, including romance.**

pink leaf divider

So, either I took notes; wherein my phone automatically updated and DELETED THEM?? RUDE. Or! I didn’t even take notes, whoops.

Thankfully, Oath Taker was a memorable book for me. Continue reading

November + December 2019 Wrap Up

IMG_8624

Hello, reader(s)! Welcome to my last post for 2019! It’s wild that 2019 has gone by extremely quickly. No? I can’t even remember the first 10 months, haha.

Beyond 2019 moving quickly, December absolutely flew by! Though December always flies by every year. This month I actually read more than I thought I did! Which is honestly a great thing. I’ve got to stay sane somehow ya know? Haha.

pink leaf divider

what did i read this month

Books I read:

November;

  • Axel (Carolina Reapers, #1) by Samantha Whiskey — 2 stars
  • Cupid’s Match (#1) by Lauren Palphreyman — 2 stars
  • Dark Pact (Her Dark Guardians, #1) by Alana Serra — 2 stars
  • *Written In Red (The Others, #1) by Anne Bishop — 4 stars
  • The Outlaw Demon Wails (The Hollows, #6) by Kim Harrison — 4 stars
  • White Witch, Black Curse (The Hollows, #7) by Kim Harrison — 4 stars

*  = Re-Reads

December;

  • Taming Demons for Beginners (The Guild Codex: Demonized Series, #1) by Annette Marie — 5 stars
  • Cold Attraction by Zoe Ashwood — 5 stars
  • A Torn Paige (Hidden Kingdom trilogy, #1) by L. Rose, Lila Rose — 5 stars
  • A Lost Paige (Hidden Kingdom trilogy, #2) by L. Rose, Lila Rose — 5 stars
  • Breaker, by Harloe Rae — 1 star
  • Outlaw’s Promise by Helena Newbury — 3 stars
  • Black Magic Sanction (The Hollows), by Kim Harrison — 3 stars
  • Oath Taker (Kingdom of Runes, #1) by Audrey Grey — 3 stars
  • Dark King (Court of the Sea Fae, #1) by C.N. Crawford — 3 stars

pink leaf divider

painterly_06

Books reviewed:

pink leaf divider

Books acquired

  • The Queen of Nothing (The Folk of the Air, #3) by Holly Black (bought in November)
  • Cold Falling White (Zero Repeat Forever, #2) by Gabrielle Prendergast
  • The Haunting of Vancouver Island by Shanon Sinn
  • The Girl the Sea Gave Back by Adrienne Young

pink leaf divider

Posted

November;

December;

pink leaf divider

WHERE TO FIND ME:

 Instagram | Goodreads | Twitter 

My shop:

CozyLibrary @ Etsy | cozylibrarycreations @ Instagram

pink leaf divider

Thank you for stopping by!

See you soon, and Happy Reading!
Adele

See you in 2020!

Books I’m Looking Forward to this Autumn Part 3 | 2016

Hello all! Now that the month is November, this means that this is the third and last part of this years Autumn books that I’m Looking Forward to. I’ve liked doing these, so I’m going to try to do them monthly according to the seasons!

I don’t know about where you live, but where I live, November is typically the month where Autumn matures into Winter. In my mind I can see myself sitting on my bed with my window open reading a book while sipping some hot chocolate. Ahh, it looks so comfortable. But what books are being published in November that I’m interested in? Lets see!:

November  Continue reading