Red, White & Royal Blue, by Casey McQuiston

Hello friends! Today I have my book review of

Red, White & Royal Blue, by Casey McQuiston. 

Trigger Warnings: Sex, Racism, Forced Outing, Swearing, Depression, Anxiety Attacks, Death mention, Drug Abuse mention, Alcohol use, Homophobia.

pink leaf divider

41150487._SY475_What happens when America’s First Son falls in love with the Prince of Wales?

When his mother became President, Alex Claremont-Diaz was promptly cast as the American equivalent of a young royal. Handsome, charismatic, genius—his image is pure millennial-marketing gold for the White House. There’s only one problem: Alex has a beef with the actual prince, Henry, across the pond. And when the tabloids get hold of a photo involving an Alex-Henry altercation, U.S./British relations take a turn for the worse.

Heads of family, state, and other handlers devise a plan for damage control: staging a truce between the two rivals. What at first begins as a fake, Instragramable friendship grows deeper, and more dangerous, than either Alex or Henry could have imagined. Soon Alex finds himself hurtling into a secret romance with a surprisingly unstuffy Henry that could derail the campaign and upend two nations and begs the question: Can love save the world after all? Where do we find the courage, and the power, to be the people we are meant to be? And how can we learn to let our true colors shine through?

Casey McQuiston’s Red, White & Royal Blue proves: true love isn’t always diplomatic.

pink leaf divider

Here’s the thing: I didn’t plan on reading Red, White & Royal Blue, but I did. And I didn’t plan on reviewing Red, White & Royal Blue, either. But I have. I was happy to not have to review another book. Less work for me! #lazy #dontforgettotakebreaks

But here I am, with an informal book review. This “book review” will only have my lasting impressions on the book since I wrote little to no notes.

Enjoy! Continue reading

DNF – Dragon Whisper, by Niamh Murphy | Book Review

Hey friends! Today I have my book review of

Dragon Whisper, by Niamh Murphy. 

Dragon Whisper is the first book in The Dark Age Trilogy.

pink leaf divider

42747802._SY475_For fans of Sarah J. Maas, Game of Thrones, and Skyrim comes a queer, epic fantasy set in a land of Dark Wizards and Warrior Queens…

A LOOMING WAR. A DEVASTATING BLIGHT. A GOD HUNGRY FOR SOULS.

To save herself, she will first have to save the world.

In the dying forests of the Weald Wood, Breanna, a young outcast, is simply trying to earn a Hunter’s axe.

When she witnesses the sacred Forest Drake kill her father and destroy her village home, she knows her life is forever altered. But Breanna holds a secret that could be the key to stopping the Ancient Dragon God’s rampage.

The fate of every being in the land now depends on one young woman who can hear the Dragon’s Whisper.

Will she find her courage, or see her world destroyed?

pink leaf divider

Not gonna lie—I had incredibly high hopes for Dragon Whisper. I read the synopsis and thought “this is going to be amazing.” I thought action packeddragonsmagic, and a few other things as well. However…. Continue reading

Annie on My Mind, by Nancy Garden | {ARC} Book Review #382

I received an Advanced Reader Copy of Annie on My Mind by Nancy Garden, from Open Road Integrated Media, via Netgalley, in exchange for an honest review.

Trigger Warning: Homophobia

35818578When Liza Winthrop first lays eyes on Annie Kenyon at the Metropolitan Museum of Art, she knows there’s something special between them. Soon, their close friendship develops into a deep and intimate romance. Neither imagined that falling in love could be so wonderful, but as Liza and Annie’s newfound sexuality sparks conflict in both their families and at their schools, they discover it will take more than love for their relationship to succeed.

One of the first books to positively portray a lesbian relationship, Annie on My Mind is a groundbreaking classic of the genre. The subject of a First Amendment lawsuit over banned books and one of School Library Journal’s “One Hundred Books that Shaped the Century,” Nancy Garden’s iconic novel is an important story for anyone discovering who they’re meant to be.


Publication Date: September 05, 2017.

Within Annie on My Mind we meet, Liza, whose story we get to read. Within said story we get to see quite an ordeal, which I will get to later… Annie on My Mind is a story were the main character Liza tells the story of falling in love for the first time, and a few other things happen as well.  Continue reading