Oath Taker, by Audrey Grey | Book Review

Hello friends! Today I have a book review.

I’m reviewing, Oath Taker by Audrey Grey.

Oath Taker is the first book in the Kingdom of Runes series.

TW: Self Harm, mention of a dead sibling, mention of a dead parent, slavery mention, abuse (flashbacks), abuse mention, murder mention.

MENTIONS OF SPOILERS. 

pink leaf divider

44163860._SY475_Perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Emily R. King, this first book in a dark and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

Light magic is forbidden.
Dark magic spells death.
Haven has both.


After the Prince of Penryth saved her from captivity, seventeen-year-old Haven Ashwood spends her days protecting the kind prince and her nights secretly fighting the monsters outside the castle walls.

When one of those monsters kidnaps Prince Bell, Haven must ally with Archeron Halfbane and his band of immortals to rescue her friend.

Her quest takes her deep into the domain of a warped and vicious queen where the rules are simple: break her curse or die.

Lost in a land of twisted magic and fabled creatures, Haven finds herself unprepared, not just for the feelings she develops for Archeron, but for the warring powers raging inside her.

Her rare and forbidden type of magic may be their only hope . . . but mixing light and dark comes with a steep price.

Haven’s soul.

Faced with impossible love, heartbreaking betrayals, and a queen intent on destroying the realm, only one thing remains certain.

Haven must shatter the curse or it will devour everything she loves.

Welcome to the Kingdom of Runes where immortals and humans clash, light and dark magic reign, and mythical creatures lurk in the shadows. If you like fierce heroines, enemies-to-lovers romance, wild plot twists, and endearing characters that stay with you long after you reach the end, you need to discover the book readers are calling dark fantasy at its best. Just make sure to clear out some space on your calendar first!

**Oath Taker was previously published in the boxed set Shattered Worlds under the name Curse Breaker. This is a revised second edition. The Kingdom of Runes series is upper/mature YA and contains mild cursing and adult situations, including romance.**

pink leaf divider

So, either I took notes; wherein my phone automatically updated and DELETED THEM?? RUDE. Or! I didn’t even take notes, whoops.

Thankfully, Oath Taker was a memorable book for me.

Oath Taker is mainly told from Haven’s point of view, there are a few other views that we read from as well.

Oath Taker was a book that had me captive from page one until the very last page.

There are quite a few things within Oath Taker that has me absolutely grasping for the second book, Curse Breaker.

Oath Taker contains a rich story that when I was reading it, I couldn’t help but be immersed in the plot.

The story moved incredibly quickly. Oath Taker is practically overflowing with plot and danger and a love interest that doesn’t want to be a love interest. 

Haven is a young lady who was dealt on of  the shittiest hands in life, and through that she was given a better dealing. Like these situations call for, Haven claimed to protect the person who saved her for the rest of her life. 

Even though Haven can do magic and is, assumingely human, I believe that she’s not. We’re not given much of any details about Haven’s upbringing or why she was taken and then sold into slavery. But I believe that she’s a descendant if forgotten origins even to the oldest being that there is in the world. 

I appreciate how human Haven acts even though I don’t believe Haven is human at all. 

All in all a great story that I was completely immersed in. 

I give Oath Taker 3 stars. 

Honestly I thought that Oath taker would be … more.. than it actually turned out to be. I found Oath Taker on IG in a promoted post, read a snippet and thought that this story would be darker than it actually was. 

pink leaf divider

Have you read Oath Taker? What did you think of it?

I apologize for my review of Oath Taker being muddled. It’s been a while since I read OT and took my notes while reading this book. I honestly don’t know if I want to continue on with reading the rest of Haven’s story since I remember moments and characters that I’d rather not have to have a mention of again, haha.

Thank you for stopping by!

See you soon, and Happy Reading!
Adele

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s