DNF – Dragon Whisper, by Niamh Murphy | Book Review

Hey friends! Today I have my book review of

Dragon Whisper, by Niamh Murphy. 

Dragon Whisper is the first book in The Dark Age Trilogy.

pink leaf divider

42747802._SY475_For fans of Sarah J. Maas, Game of Thrones, and Skyrim comes a queer, epic fantasy set in a land of Dark Wizards and Warrior Queens…

A LOOMING WAR. A DEVASTATING BLIGHT. A GOD HUNGRY FOR SOULS.

To save herself, she will first have to save the world.

In the dying forests of the Weald Wood, Breanna, a young outcast, is simply trying to earn a Hunter’s axe.

When she witnesses the sacred Forest Drake kill her father and destroy her village home, she knows her life is forever altered. But Breanna holds a secret that could be the key to stopping the Ancient Dragon God’s rampage.

The fate of every being in the land now depends on one young woman who can hear the Dragon’s Whisper.

Will she find her courage, or see her world destroyed?

pink leaf divider

Not gonna lie—I had incredibly high hopes for Dragon Whisper. I read the synopsis and thought “this is going to be amazing.” I thought action packeddragonsmagic, and a few other things as well. However….

I ended up marking Dragon Whisper as DNF @ 81%. I held out for so long because I genuinely wanted to like Breanna’s story. However, much of the story isn’t from Breanna’s point of view. Which brings me to say that there are quite a few view points in this novel. 

The other points of view were okay, but there was one view point that I could not stand reading from. Said character really put a damper on the story for me. I ended up skipping this person’s POV…so that’s how you know that I really did not enjoy this book. Usually I could power through. Not this time unfortunately.

The settings throughout the story are fascinating. A pure joy to read about. 

Paired with a slow storyline, however, made Dragon Whisper pretty boring. The plot is a slow build, and there are hints of romance–a true slow burn romance we have here, folks. It’s too bad that I didn’t see it fruition, since I DNF’d this one.  

I was curious enough to try and read Dragon Whisper. I’m just disappointed that I didn’t enjoy it. Which leads me to say that I couldn’t connect with any of the characters–nor the story. 

I give Dragon Whisper, 1.5 stars. 

pink leaf divider

Have you read Dragon Whisper? What did you think of it? Did you have a better time during this book than I did? 

Thank you for stopping by!

See you soon, and Happy Reading!
Adele

3 thoughts on “DNF – Dragon Whisper, by Niamh Murphy | Book Review

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s