Justice Calling, by Annie Bellet | Book Review

Hello friends! Today I have my book review of

Justice Calling, by Annie Bellet.

Justice Calling is the first book in The Twenty-Sided Sorceress series. 

Trigger Warnings: Attempted Murder, Murder Mention, Sex/ Steamy scene(s).

flower divider

22926105Gamer. Nerd. Sorceress.

Jade Crow lives a quiet life running her comic book and game store in Wylde, Idaho. After twenty-five years fleeing from a powerful sorcerer who wants to eat her heart and take her powers, quiet suits her just fine. Surrounded by friends who are even less human than she is, Jade figures she’s finally safe.

As long as she doesn’t use her magic.

When dark powers threaten her friends’ lives, a sexy shape-shifter enforcer shows up. He’s the shifter world’s judge, jury, and executioner rolled into one, and he thinks Jade is to blame. To clear her name, save her friends, and stop the villain, she’ll have to use her wits… and her sorceress powers.

Except Jade knows that as soon as she does, a far deadlier nemesis awaits.

Justice Calling is the first book in The Twenty-Sided Sorceress urban fantasy series. Readers who enjoyed The Dresden Files or The Iron Druid Chronicles will likely enjoy this series.

flower divider

When I found Justice Calling and read what it’s about, I was actually really looking forward to read Jade’s story. I expected quite a bit of action and magic usage as well. We’re given quite a bit of Jade’s personal history concerning why she’s hiding–to hide from her evil ex. 

Justice Calling didn’t disappoint. This first book in The Twenty-Sided Sorceress series was a super fast read. The plot moves quickly, and there was never really a dull moment. Yay!

I truly enjoyed reading Jade’s story—and even though there are some steamy scenes, I found that Justice Calling wasn’t inherently sexual at all in my opinion. In fact, there’s really no time to have any steamy moments. 

By the time the end of this first novel ended, I liked where the story was headed. 

I give Justice Calling, 3 stars

flower divider

Have you read anything from Annie Bellet?

Justice Calling was the first book I read by Annie Bellet. I was surprised that I ended up enjoying the novel. I’m looking forward to reading more of Jade’s story.

Thank you for stopping by!

See you soon, and Happy Reading!
Adele

One thought on “Justice Calling, by Annie Bellet | Book Review

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s