November ’18 Publishings (that I’m looking forward to)

ucbrpicHello friends! It’s time for another one of my monthly posts where I talk about the books I’m most excited for in the following month! Since this month we’re in currently is October, the books in this list all come out in November. And boooiiiiii, there are so seriously gorgeous covers coming out in November.

If you feel like I’ve missed a book that you believe that I would enjoy, please let me know about it! — Enjoy!

autumn divider

November 01

41838393The Lord of Stariel is dead. Long live the Lord of Stariel. Whoever that is. 

Everyone knows who the magical estate will choose for its next ruler. Or do they?

Will it be the lord’s eldest son, who he despised?

His favourite nephew, with the strongest magical land-sense?

His scandalous daughter, who ran away from home years ago to study illusion?

Hetta knows it won’t be her, and she’s glad of it. Returning home for her father’s funeral, all Hetta has to do is survive the family drama and avoid entanglements with irritatingly attractive local men until the Choosing. Then she can leave.

But whoever Stariel chooses will have bigger problems than eccentric relatives to deal with.

Winged, beautifully deadly problems.

For the first time in centuries, the fae are returning to the Mortal Realm, and only the Lord of Stariel can keep the estate safe.

In theory.

I wasn’t all that interested in this book, until the mentioning of the fae coming back and honestly, my interest has been piqued. I’m keeping my expecations for The Lord of Stariel low. I want to end up liking it!

autumn divider

November 06

39898847Memoirs of a Geisha meets The Selection in this stunning YA fantasy novel. Perfects for fans of Renée Ahdieh, Laini Taylor and Sabaa Tahir.

Each year, eight beautiful girls are chosen as Paper Girls to serve the king. It’s the highest honour they could hope for…and the most demeaning. This year, there’s a ninth. And instead of paper, she’s made of fire. Lei is a member of the Paper caste, the lowest and most persecuted class of people in Ikhara. Ten years ago, her mother was snatched by the royal guards, and her fate remains unknown. Now, the guards are back and this time it’s Lei they’re after – the girl with the golden eyes, whose rumored beauty has piqued the king’s interest.

Over weeks of training in the opulent but oppressive palace, Lei and eight other girls learn the skills and charm that befit a king’s consort. There, Lei does the unthinkable – she falls in love. Her forbidden romance becomes enmeshed with an explosive plot that threatens her world’s entire way of life. Lei, still the wide-eyed country girl at heart, must decide how far she’s willing to go for justice and revenge.

I’ve got to start reading synopsis whenever I start finding covers even slightly interesting. I didn’t think much of Girls of Paper and Fire when I first started hearing about it a while ago. Frankly, I didn’t think I’d like the story very much. And then I read the synopsis for Girls of Paper and Fire and I found that yes, there’s a small chance that I might end up liking the story. So hopefully I’ll get around to reading Girls of Paper and Fire soon!

autumn divider

37569318-2In a palace of illusions, nothing is what it seems.

Each generation, a competition is held to find the next empress of Honoku. The rules are simple. Survive the palace’s enchanted seasonal rooms. Conquer Winter, Spring, Summer, and Fall. Marry the prince. All are eligible to compete—all except yōkai, supernatural monsters and spirits whom the human emperor is determined to enslave and destroy. Mari has spent a lifetime training to become empress. Winning should be easy. And it would be, if she weren’t hiding a dangerous secret. Mari is a yōkai with the ability to transform into a terrifying monster. If discovered, her life will be forfeit.  As she struggles to keep her true identity hidden, Mari’s fate collides with that of Taro, the prince who has no desire to inherit the imperial throne, and Akira, a half-human, half-yōkai outcast. Torn between duty and love, loyalty and betrayal, vengeance and forgiveness, the choices of Mari, Taro, and Akira will decide the fate of Honoku in this beautifully written, edge-of-your-seat YA fantasy.

When I first read the title I thought “Huh. This is interesting.” Then I read the synopsis and I went “Daaaaang. DAAAAAAAAAANG!!!” I even tweeted about Empress of All Seasons because I’m genuinely intrigued, and excited to read Empress of All Seasons. This book is inspired by the authors’ Japanese heritage, and I am all for it.

autumn divider

November 13

41093697A nobleman’s daughter with magic in her blood. An empire built on the dreams of enslaved gods. Empire of Sand is Tasha Suri’s captivating, Mughal India-inspired debut fantasy.
The Amrithi are outcasts; nomads descended of desert spirits, they are coveted and persecuted throughout the Empire for the power in their blood. Mehr is the illegitimate daughter of an imperial governor and an exiled Amrithi mother she can barely remember, but whose face and magic she has inherited.
When Mehr’s power comes to the attention of the Emperor’s most feared mystics, she must use every ounce of will, subtlety, and power she possesses to resist their cruel agenda.
Should she fail, the gods themselves may awaken seeking vengeance…
Empire of Sand is a lush, dazzling fantasy novel perfect for readers of City of Brass and The Wrath & the Dawn.

I was drawn in by the cover (what a beauty!) and the synopsis is everything that I need currently to get out of this reading slump that I’m in at the moment. I’m excited to read Mehr’s story! I can only wonder at what will really happen when I start reading Empire of Sand.

autumn divider

November 20

38885432Marieke Nijkamp’s This is Where it Ends meets Kathleen Glasgow’s Girl in Pieces in a gripping novel that explores the depths of trauma and the strength it takes to rise again. Perfect for readers of Ellen Hopkins.

Five years after being kidnapped, Elian’s captor sends him into the mall–with a bomb strapped to his chest.

Across the mall is Maya, a girl whose crippling anxiety holds her prisoner in its own way.

Whether it’s chance or fate, Maya keeps Eli from ending them all. And now nothing is the same. Drawn together by their dark pasts, Maya and Eli know it takes only seconds for their entire worlds to change. But time will tell if meeting each other will change them for better or worse.

Any Second sounds like a book that I would enjoy, precisely for the fact that Any Second is a Thriller novel. I don’t know about you, but I do love a good Thriller novel from time to time. I’m especially looking forward to reading about how Maya and Eli’s relationship evolves.

autumn divider

November 21

41443903‘I was born to fly,’ I told my brothers. But it isn’t true. I was born to be a pawn in the great game of royal houses, married to someone – anyone – my family deems suitable. If I’m lucky, he’ll be my own age and bearable. If I’m very lucky, he’ll be someone who understands my need to fight, and to fly…

Bel, born to nobility, would do anything to spend her days alongside her brothers – soaring through the heavens in her beloved flyer. She’s faster than any of them, but she knows her days in the skies are numbered.

When a surprise attack on the palace lands Bel’s father on the throne, her life is forever changed. In order to secure her father’s empire, Bel must travel to a distant land to marry the recently widowed young ruler, Conleith.

But Bel’s new home is less than welcoming: compared to the refined ladies at court, Bel seems like a wild woman, and assassination attempts, treason and mystery threaten her at every turn. With a growing attraction to Con, her life is further complicated by the attentive leader of her bodyguards – a warrior called Shae whom she has loved since childhood…

A heart-stoppingly magical new novel that will keep you turning the pages. Perfect for fans of The Selection, Bella Forrest and Sarah J. Maas.

Not going to lie, I only read the synopsis for The Queen’s Wing because the cover is absolutely gorgeous. Not only is the cover seriously appealing, but the synopsis for The Queen’s Wing is quite intriguing as well. From reading the synopsis I’m reminded of The Glass Spare by Lauren DeStefano. On the other hand though, the synopsis feels completely original so I’m quite excited to get my hands on a copy of The Queen’s Wing.

autumn divider

Other Mentionable Titles Include:

  • The Winter Riddle by Sam Hooker (11.01.18)
  • The Harbinger: A Reverse Harem Fantasy by Candace Wondrak (11.05.18)
  • The Reckoning of Noah Shaw by Michelle Hodkin (11.12.18)
  • Winter Without You by Beth Good (11.15.18)
  • The Confectioner’s Coup (The Confectioner Chronicles, #2) by Claire Luana

Thank you for stopping by!

If there are any books/titles that you think I missed (that I have a chance of enjoying), let me know!

Happy Reading!
— Adele

5 thoughts on “November ’18 Publishings (that I’m looking forward to)

  1. cinnamonsummers says:

    The only one that I’ve heard of in your list is Girls of Paper and Fire. I was super lucky in getting an ARC of it and it was an amazing 5 star book!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s