State of the ARC #4 | May ’18

State-of-the-ARC

STATE OF THE ARC MEME

State of the ARC is a monthly meme at Avalinah’s Books meant to motivate you to finish up all your long overdue ARCs(Advanced or Early Reader Copies). You can track your reading progress and link up with your own post. Most commonly it comes out on the 30th of every month.

I told myself that I wouldn’t request any arcs this month… I already have enough to last me a long while, and believe me, I am working on it. This ARC pile I have is continuing work in progress. Yet there are too many interesting books out there! Too many! ..So I ended up requesting a few books. The ARCs I happily received this May are:

  • Konohan Kitan Volume 01, by Sakuya Amano; a manga that features fox-characters that run an Inn that caters to the gods.
  • The Traitor God, by Cameron Johnston; a Sci-Fi/Fantasy book where the main characters best friend dies and he seeks revenge, whether or not the people want him too, since this main character has pretty much been ostracized.
  • A Wolf Apart, by Maria Vale; A Wolf Apart is a book that I’ve been waiting for, and wanting to read for about 3 months now. I read the first book and ending up enjoying it about as much as I thought I would. I actually thought that the second book in the series would be in the same point of views from The Last Wolf. The POV isn’t the same, which is a shame since I genuinely enjoyed reading from Silver and Tiberius. — I’m looking forward to getting to know Thea, and Elijah.
  • The Girl From Blind River, by Gale Massey; The Girl From Blind River is an interesting one, because first it’s a Mystery, so my interest is immediately piqued, and secondly, there’s mentioning of the main character either becoming a criminal ways to save herself and her brother, or the main character goes and turns herself in.
  • Ruthless Magic, by Megan Crewe; I’m not going to lie. Ruthless Magic appealed to me because of the email I got from Netgalley saying that Ruthless Magic was an Urban Fantasy, and perfect for fans of Harry Potter as well as the Hunger Games.
  • Ace of Hearts, by Chantel Fernando; I requested Ace of Hearts because frankly, I’ve been wanting to read a good romance novel that has Motorcycles as a main factor in the story. Ace of Hearts has motorcycles + forbidden romance so I’m truly curious to see how the story plays out.
  • Before I Let Go, by Marieke Nijkamp; It’s been so long since I first requested Before I Let Go, and frankly, I’m still looking forward to reading the story. I’m very interested in finding out who killed Corey’s friend, Kyra, and why Kyra ended up underneath the ice.

 

 

In May I read more ARCs than I imagined I would, and thankfully my feedback ratio has gone up as well! I’m still not at the percentage I’d like to be at, but that is a work in progress. I’m truly quite pleased with myself.

The books I read are:

  • Konohan Kitan Volume 01, by Sakuya Amano; I loved this manga. I loved the pacing, the way that the story is told, and I especially enjoyed that this story gave me chills.
  • Never Forgotten by Kelly Risser; Yay! An older ARC that I finally got around to reading! (my review)
  • Ace of Hearts by Chantal Fernando; I ended up absolutely enjoying (and devouring) Ace of Hearts. I’m honestly really looking forward to reading the second book, whenever I can. (my review)
  • Endangered by Dani Hoots; I was actually really looking forward to reading Endangered, but ultimately I ended up marking it as DNF. I found only snipits of the story to be interesting, and the rest of it all was lacking. — DNF’d at 59% (my review)
  • The Traitor God by Cameron Johnston; The Traitor God ended up being both something I had expected, and something I had not. (my review)
  • Black Dawn (Black Dawn #1) by Mallory McCartney; Black Dawn ended up being a big disappointment to me. I ended up not liking the story as much as I had wished to. (my review)
  • Save the Date by Morgan Matson; Save the Date was a tad bit anxiety inducing for me, just because there was so much going on. And I didn’t like Charlie’s story as much as I had hoped I would, but I still enjoyed the story. (my review)

 

 

I’m glad that I read Black Dawn and Save the Date this month, since I actually received them last month. In terms of reviews, most of these titles will be reviewed in June.

Unfortunately, May is another month where I ended up marking not one, but two(!) ARCs down as DNF. This second ARC that I am talking about within this paragraph, is one I received quite a while ago.. I didn’t finish reading this book because I found that there were too many points of views, which in turn made the story line (to be quite frank with you,) boring.

I started May with a 49% feedback ratio, and now I’m ending May 2018 with 52%. Yay!!!!!

In these upcoming months, I’m genuinely going to try my hardest in not requesting any new ARCs. So please hold me to that if I end up garnering more books! Though I may fail at that entirely because there are so many good books that are going to be published!

Thank you so much for stopping by!

I hope you have a great rest of your day.
— Adele

[EDIT: On June 28, 2018 I added the links to the review(s) of the books I read.]


State of the ARC meme was created and is hosted by Avalinah over at Avalinah’s Books!

3 thoughts on “State of the ARC #4 | May ’18

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s