Bring Her Home, by David Bell [ARC] | Book Review #226

I was given a copy of Bring Her Home (by David Bell) from Berkley Publishing Group via Netgalley, in exchange for an honest review.

Book Review

34350888Just a year and a half after the tragic death of his wife, Bill Price’s fifteen-year-old daughter, Summer, and her best friend, Haley, disappear. Days later, the girls are found in a city park. Haley is dead at the scene, while Summer is left beaten beyond recognition and clinging to life.

As Bill holds vigil over Summer’s bandaged body, the only sound the unconscious girl can make is one cryptic and chilling word: No. And the more time Bill spends with Summer, the more he wonders what happened to her. Or if the injured girl in the hospital bed is really his daughter at all.

When troubling new questions about Summer’s life surface, Bill is not prepared for the aftershocks. He’ll soon discover that both the living and the dead have secrets. And that searching for the truth will tear open old wounds that pierce straight to the heart of his family…


Bring Her Home features a father, Bill, who is desperate to find his daughter, Summer.

I liked how we were transported right away into Bill’s story. The beginning is a little hectic at first, since the book starts off with the girls’ having been found. And then we’re thrust into the chaos that proves to be Bill’s life.

Right from the start of the book, the plot is almost fast moving, yet slow at the same time. The only way I can describe reading Bring Her Home was like watching everything happen around me unfold and unable to do anything. We were there reading through Bill’s point of view, but helpless to everything else.

Bill is put through so much emotional turmoil. There were so many ups and downs and lefts and rights that I’m surprised I don’t have whiplash! Bring Her Home is definitely an emotional rollercoaster. I was halfway through the book and I realized that Bill was put through so much, I’m kinda surprised that he didn’t crack and have a mental breakdown.

I’m kinda bummed that I hit the wringer dead on, and I don’t like that I was able to articulate the suspect early on in the novel. However.. I enjoyed David Bell’s writing. Kudos to you, Bell! This is the first Mystery/Thriller novel in an adult’s point of view that I’ve finished. I enjoyed the mystery part of the book, but I found that the “thriller” part of the book was severely lacking.

I ended up giving Bring Her Home, 2.5 of 5 stars on Goodreads. — I did enjoy the writing, and the story, yes, but overall the book just turned out to be…ordinary, I guess. I do love that cover though.

Thank-you to both Netgalley and Berkley Publishing Group for allowing me to read Bring Her Home in exchange for an honest review.

Happy Reading!
Adele

One thought on “Bring Her Home, by David Bell [ARC] | Book Review #226

Leave a Reply

