Nemesis, by Anna Banks | Book Review #214

THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS.

screen-shot-2017-01-17-at-5-02-42-pm

27414431Princess Sepora of Serubel is the last Forger in all the five kingdoms. The spectorium she creates provides energy for all, but now her father has found a way to weaponize it, and his intentions to incite war force her to flee his grasp. She escapes across enemy lines into the kingdom of Theoria, but her plans to hide are thwarted when she is captured and placed in the young king’s servitude.

Tarik has just taken over rulership of Theoria, and must now face a new plague sweeping through his kingdom and killing his citizens. The last thing he needs is a troublesome servant vying for his attention. But Mistress Sepora will not be ignored. When the two finally meet face-to-face, they form an unlikely bond that complicates life in ways neither of them could have imagined.

Sepora’s gift may be able to save Tarik’s kingdom. But should she risk exposing herself and her growing feelings for her nemesis?


Trigger Warning: Slavery

Nemesis is the first book in the Nemesis series by Anna Banks. — I’ve read and loved Banks’ Syrena Trilogy, in the past so when I heard that Banks was coming out with another story, I was looking forward to the book. Even if it sounded a little fishy (no pun intended).

Overall, I enjoyed reading Nemesis. I like how the story was set up, but there could have been more details that could have been talked about. There’s some history that wasn’t talked about that could have made the story more interesting. — However, the fantasy element of this book is well described and talked about. I especially liked how when the scenery and surroundings were spoken of as well. I could feel as if I were actually there with the characters.

All of the characters were interesting, and I didn’t find any fault with them. All characters, in my opinion were well thought through and I enjoyed reading from both Sepora’s view point, as well as Tarik’s point of view.

The ending of the book could have been held up better. The story takes a turn at about the 90% mark. The ending kind of makes sense, since it happened, but I truly feel like the ending to Nemesis was that of a quick wrap-up, to just “end the novel already!!”

I read Nemesis for the Fantasy element of the book. And while I really enjoyed reading about winged serpents, and huge canines, that’s pretty much the extent of the Fantasy element. Aside from Sepora being able to Forge, and a spoiler.

SPOILERS AHEAD!

For the Trigger Warning: Slavery, mentioned multiple times, and having a view point from a slave.

unnamed-3

There are two points of view in Nemesis. The first is from Sepora. Sepora is the last Forger, who gives energy to all that use it. And then Sepora’s father finds a way to weaponize the element that Sepora creates. Sepora, wanting peace in all the lands, leaves and warns the kingdom of Theoria that war is imminent. I’m leaning towards believing that Sepora left her kingdom because her dad is abusive towards her, but I know that for the most part Sepora left to warn the Theoria kingdom.

The second view we read is from Tarik. Tarik has just taken over rulership of the Theorian kingdom. Tarik didn’t want to take over leadership of Theoria, but since his dad died, he has to. There are some people in the Theorian people that are called Lingot’s. Lingot’s have the ability to tell if a person is telling a lie, or the truth. Sometimes even from third parties! Which is interesting.

I was a little irked at times while reading Nemesis since the chapters alternate in points of view. There were times when I wanted to read more from one character and then suddenly, it was a new chapter. Then I was reading this new point of view and a few times I was in a situation of “I was just reading from _____’s point of view, and now I’m suddenly in a castle reading that _____ wants to be closer to ____… What?!

I like the world that Banks has come up with, in terms of the Fantasy element to the story. That’s why I wanted read Nemesis.

I couldn’t predict anything in Nemesis, which feels amazing. I felt like I could just sit back and watch the story pan out. The ending that I had predicted about halfway through the book didn’t happen at all! What did happen though, honestly feels like it was just wrapped up in one neat little bow with a “Here, I’m done! Can I have a cookie?” note attached. The ending to Nemesis is weak, yet I feel like the ending would be a great opening for the next book.

Something that I liked about this book is that both characters have animals that they care about. I feel like the animals will play a larger roll in the next book(s). Hopefully.

I have no idea what will happen in the sequel, and I’m not really sure if I want to find out.

I ended up giving Nemesis 2 of 5 stars on Goodreads.

All of this being said, I would strongly advise you to read The Bookavid’s review of Nemesis, since she was able to pick out quite a few Trigger’s for this book, that I was not. Triggers like Insensitivity, Slavery, and White-washing.

I would like to point out that in The Bookavid’s review of Nemesis, she pointed out quite a few problems within this novel. I’m linking her review because I found that with reading her review, there are indeed quite a bit of problems within the story. Read The Bookavid’s review of Nemesis. The Bookavid says it best, folks.

Happy Reading!
Adele

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Nemesis, by Anna Banks | Book Review #214

Leave a Reply

