Books to Read on a Rainy Day

IMG_5572I don’t know about where you live, but where I live, the weather in Spring tends to either be wet and rainy, sunny and chilly, or be both at the same time. It could rain for 3 days straight, and then sunny for the next week and we won’t see a drop of rain. The weather here in Vancouver and Greater Vancouver Area, is very unpredictable. In fact, the only predictable thing about Vancouver is the unpredictable Spring weather.

I usually know when spring is here when there’s a huge and fast thunder storm that blows by. There will be hail, and extreme winds, followed by the rumble of thunder that rattles the house. Sometimes there will be lightning as well. The whole shebang. —-However, all of these books that I’ve listed are books that I could read over and over again.

Here are a few of the many books I’ve read that I could read over and over again, yet would be perfect for rainy, and/or stormy weather.

The Immortal Rules by Julie Kagawa

I like vampire stories, and I like action packed books. I also like reading vampire stories that have romance. Luckily, The Immortal Rules has all of these. As well as being fast paced, The Immortal Rules

The Vanishing Girl by Laura Thalassa

The Vanishing Girl is such a favourite book of mine. I’ve only read it once yet the storyline, and the characters have left such an impression on me that when I finished reading the first book, I decided that The Vanishing Girl would be one of my favourites. The story actually had me yelling and screaming the first time I read it — not many books can do that.

The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken

I’ve re-read The Darkest Minds (TDM) a few times now. Each time I re-read TDM I end up finishing the book in one sitting. Seriously. Each time. The way the story just sneaks me into completing the book is crazy. I could pick up the book one day, and read the first few pages and then the next thing I know is that I’m breaking my heart all over again with that ending.

Far From You by Tess Sharpe

Far From You is one of the few Mystery novels that I’ve read and loved. I first read this book through the library, and then bought a copy of the book a few years later. Whenever I sit down to start re-reading Far From You I always seem to get a little reminiscent. I think back on the times that I have re-read this book and end up thinking about what a great book Far From You is since I usually end up coming back to the story at least once a year.

She Loves Me, She Loves Me Not… by Julie Anne Peters

She Loves Me, She Loves Me Not… was recommended to me by a friend and I’m honestly so thankful that I listened to her recommendation of this book. I love this book to bits. I actually end up reading this book when I feel like I have nothing else to read. So having this Lesbian featured story is great. There’s a lot that the main character goes through, yet she manages to overcome quite a bit.

If I Stay by Gayle Forman

When I first bought If I Stay almost 10 years ago, I had no idea what to expect. I knew I liked the cover, and that the synopsis seemed interesting. What I didn’t expect was that I’d love If I Stay so much, or the amount of times I’ve re-read this book. — If I stay was actually one of the first books that got me back into reading. I remember having like 5 other books in my possession that were mine and mine alone. I think I read those other books, but If I Stay, I had probably read at least 6 or 8 times. In that year I bought it. When I wasn’t doing homework or watching tv, I was probably reading If I Stay. I was addicted to this book.

Uprooted by Naomi Novik

I’ve only just read this book recently, but when I finished the book, I immediately wanted to flip to the front page and read it all over again. In fact, I was about to. I had to stop myself from doing so! I love the adventure that Uprooted took us on.

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz

The first time I read Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe, I was surprised because I saw myself in Aristotle. I could practically echo Ari’s relationship with his father, apply it to my life and would be completely similar. That aside, I loved the story of Ari and Dante. I could read their story over and over again.

Beautiful Decay by Sylvia Lewis

I’ve just read Beautiful Decay (BD) not at all that long ago and I can honestly say that BD is a book that I can re-read from cover to cover. What I love about this book is that the story is pretty relatable — supernatural powers aside, of course. BD was published around 2013, so I’d say that the story takes place around…2011/2012. Which is not all that long ago, truthfully. I also enjoyed how quickly I was pulled into the story; a huge bonus.

However, I know that it cannot be Spring all the time. If you wanted, you can create your own little rainy (mostly stormy) weather by listening to A Long Misty Road, via 8tracks. Settle in with your favourite drink (why not have Hot Chocolate in Summer? Cold drinks in Winter?) and read some books, friends!

Do you have any books that you can re-read while its raining? I’d love to have some recommendations if you have any!

Happy Reading!
Adele

2 thoughts on “Books to Read on a Rainy Day

Leave a Reply

