Books I’m Looking Forward to this April | 2017

ucbrpic

Hello, lovelies! Today’s post is for the books that will be published in the next month, April! There are some books on this list that sound pretty interesting to be honest. I can’t wait to get my hands on a few of them. Let’s get into it, shall we?


April 1st

I actually just found What Girls Are Made Of while making this post. Which is how I find a few books each month, bahahah.

What Girls Are Made Of, actually sounds pretty interesting, but I have a feeling that this book is problematic? Correct me if I’m wrong. What Girls Are Made Of could be a book that’s completely depressing, but the book could also have an uplifting ending that’s akin to “I don’t need a boyfriend(or equivalent) to define who I am.”? — I’m sincerely hoping that What Girls Are Made Of is an empowering novel. Seriously.

April 4th

Letters to the Lost is a YA Realistic Fiction Contemporary novel.

I’ve actually been pretty interested in Letters to the Lost for a while now, after finding out that the main jig to Letters to the Lost is about two characters: Juliet, who has always written letters to her mother. After Juliet’s mother dies, Juliet continues writing letters to her mother, and leaving said letters at her grave.

Then we have Declan: Declan isn’t the guy that you want to cross, apparently. Declan is in the midst of his court-ordered community service at the local cemetery, escaping his past demons,  when, (I’m assuming) he comes across this letter. I’m also assuming that he’s opened and read the letter.

Soon the two are leaving honest letters to the other without knowing who they’re talking to, and their connection is immediate. “But neither Declan nor Juliet knows that they’re not actually strangers. When Life at school interferes with their secret life of letters, sparks will fly as Juliet and Declan discover truths that might tear them apart.”

I’m actually expecting Letters to the Lost to be 100% honest, and that I will be brutalized by everything that does and doesn’t happen in Letters to the Lost.

So I haven’t read Flawed (the first book) yet, and I don’t want to spoil Perfect for myself. I’m not going into detail about Perfect, save for that the book is a YA Sci-Fi.

April 11th

When I heard that Mindy McGinnis had another book coming out, and that it was a stand alone I immediately went to Goodreads to see what all the hubbub was about.

I hopped over onto Goodreads dot com and read about Given to the Sea. What I understood about this particular novel is that there are a few different points of view. All differing in character and backstory, Given to the Sea sounds like it’s going to be a good one. However, I am starting to fear that there will be some no-no’s in this book. — It’s just a feeling I’m getting.

I have yet to read a book by Katie Cotungo that I didn’t like. I’ve read How to Love and 99 Days in the past, and enjoyed both. I have a feeling that I’ll end up liking Fireworks as well, just not the fact that the book is set back in the 90’s. I grew up in the 90’s and as much as I don’t remember my growing up, I don’t know how I feel about Fireworks being set in that decade aside from being…apprehensive.

Fireworks is about the friendship between Olivia and Dana.

Olivia has been training her whole life to be a superstar. Dana has been singing back-up for Olivia. It’s my understanding that at a gig, both girls are discovered. Long story short though, both girls end up drifting away and it’s only through themselves that they can fix their lifelong best-friendship.

Out of the Shadows has everything that I want and need in a book. Emotional grief from losing a loved one (in this case, a best friend), some mystery, and a fantastic sounding Fantasy element to the story.

The main character, Sachi, shouldn’t be able to see the hidden world of The Shadowlands, yet one day she sees her best friend being held at scythe point by a hooded figure ‘who looks more like a GQ model than the Grim Reaper.’ .. I mean, HELLO I NEED THIS BOOK ASAP.

April 18th

I have waited for The Adjustment for a long, long time. Like, since I read the second book, The Treatment back in (I think it was) 2014. That’s three years people! I need to re-read the books, ahaha. With that little laugh, I have got to say that The Program series is nothing to laugh about. There are serious facts and wide-ranging depression across the country in The Program. The book deals with Depression, Suicide, along with erasing memories. — — I don’t want to talk about The Adjustment just yet, since I don’t want to spoil the book for myself.

Meg & Linus is a LGBTQIA book, by the way!

The main deal behind Meg & Linus is that they’re best friends. Meg’s longtime girlfriend–Sophia– breaks up with Meg. Linus starts tutoring the new kid, Danny. Meg thinks that setting Linus and Danny up will be the best way to distract herself from her own heartbreak. Linus isn’t sure at all if Danny is even into guys, and Sophia isn’t as quiet as out of the picture as much as Meg thought she was..

I have a small feeling that this book is going to be something’ else, friends. I hate to say this but, I kind of don’t like Sophia already?? the synopsis makes it sound like Sophia is going to try and go for Danny. I still don’t know what’s going to happen in Meg & Linus though, so I don’t want to say too much.

April 25th

Since there’s an assault that happens in this book, and even though the assault isn’t detailed in the synopsis, I’m just going to copy and paste the first paragraph of the synopsis which completely generalizes the book in two sentences.

Lucky Girl is an unflinching exploration of beauty, sexual assault, and self-worth, from the author of the acclaimed novel Tease. Perfect for readers of Sara Zarr and Courtney Summers.”

I’m really looking forward to Lucky Girl.

Other Notable books:


So these are the 10 books I’m interested in reading when they come out throughout April 2017.

* I was given a copy via the author

Are there any books that you’re interested in that are being published this April?

Thank you all for reading!
Adele

 

Advertisements

One thought on “Books I’m Looking Forward to this April | 2017

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s