Suffer Love, by Ashley Herring Blake | Book Review #173

25897851“Just let it go.”

That’s what everyone keeps telling Hadley St. Clair after she learns that her father cheated on her mother. But Hadley doesn’t want to let it go. She wants to be angry and she wants everyone in her life—her dad most of all—to leave her alone.

Sam Bennett and his family have had their share of drama too. Still reeling from a move to a new town and his parents’ recent divorce, Sam is hoping that he can coast through senior year and then move on to hassle-free, parent-free life in college. He isn’t looking for a relationship…that is, until he sees Hadley for the first time.

Hadley and Sam’s connection is undeniable, but Sam has a secret that could ruin everything. Should he follow his heart or tell the truth?


Within Suffer Love there are two different points of view in which I both thoroughly enjoyed reading from, even if one or even at times both of these characters were exhausting. Second hand emotions are the worst!!! The two characters we read from in the book are Hadley, and Sam. Through Hadley and Sam we discover what these two are willing to do for one another. Secrets are kept, then these secrets are revealed. Aaand(!), the one prediction I had made didn’t even come true. So that’s a bonus!

Hadley is a teenage girl who is dealing with her fathers betrayal in her own way. And along the way, Hadley learns to live with what her father has done to their family. While I liked Hadley’s point of view, I have got to say that at times she was an emotional brat. At the same time though, Hadley is a pretty strong character. She tries not to let stuff get to her.

Sam is the teenage boy in this situation and I actually really enjoyed reading from his point of view. I liked his perspective on things, even when he got a little out of hand. Sam is an all around great guy. He cares for Hadley in a way that he hasn’t cared for anyone else before. And I know, I know, that what I just said sounds like a line out of a cheesy romance novel, but it’s completely true.

I like that throughout this book there’s this feeling of holding your breath before you know someone does something really bad. This feeling was especially present in the beginning of the novel. I had a vague sense of what was going to happen in the long run. There’s this big breath of anticipation. I could also describe this as the calm before a storm.. Waiting for the other shoe to drop, because surely the other shoe has to drop sometime!

“So much has happened–so much hurt and lying and unforgiveness and time–that I’m not sure what to say. I know what I want my answer to be, but is it even possible? To go back or move forward or whatever the healthiest reaction to all this crap actually is?”

To be honest, there are so many emotions in this book. All of them relevant, all of them are valid. There are a whirlwind of emotions. Some are held in a mature way, and some aren’t dealt with properly. But what is proper when it comes to emotions? Everyone deals with their emotions differently. Everyone reacts differently. And the author showed this in many forms. Not in just the main characters that we see the world through, but through the adults as well. To have adults act like actual people instead of robots is an amazing thing that I think a lot of authors forget. Adults can be just as emotional as teenagers.

I don’t usually like books that have open endings. I like stories to have a definite ending, mostly because I don’t want to think of what could happen to fictional characters. But, Suffer Love has an open ending. The reader can make up their own ending. I’m just a sucker for those happy endings. Seriously.

I ended up giving Suffer Love 3 of 5 stars on Goodreads.

On a side note, this book caused me to tear up! Not a lot of contemporaries can do that. So kudos to you, Ashely Herring Blake.

Happy Reading!
Adele

One thought on “Suffer Love, by Ashley Herring Blake | Book Review #173

Leave a Reply

