Crimson Frost, by Jennifer Estep | Book Review #168

Crimson Frost is the 4th book in the Mythos Academy series by Jennifer Estep. There will be spoilers in this review. 

For a moment, a face flashed before my eyes—the most hideous face I’d ever seen. No matter 13130275how hard I tried to forget what had happened, I saw him everywhere I went. It was Loki—the evil god that I’d helped set free against my will.

I should have known that my first official date with Logan Quinn was destined to end in disaster. If we’d gotten into a swordfight, or been ambushed by Reapers, I’d have been more prepared. But getting arrested mid-sip at the local coffee hangout? I didn’t see that one coming.

I’ve been accused of purposely helping the Reapers free Loki from his prison—and the person leading the charge against me is Linus Quinn, Logan’s dad. The worst part is that pretty much everyone at Mythos Academy thinks I’m guilty. If I’m going to get out of this mess alive, I’ll have to do it myself…”


I didn’t know what to expect with Crimson Frost, except that someone would try to kill someone, and that there might’ve been a case of the feels. What I like to do with this kind of series (addictively fluffy) is wait until the last book is out and just storm through them all. And with this Mythos Academy series, I didn’t have to wait years and years and years because the last book was published in 2014!

What I’d thought out about this book before hand was that I hoped that Crimson Frost would be the same as all the previous books in the form of action, and romance, and honestly, everything that happened in Crimson Frost in comparison to the previous novels is just….each book put together and amplified.

I loved the beginning of this book. There was the romance, which is nice and fluffy. Not very smutty at all. But let me tell you, the foreshadowing in this book is real. And with everything being amplified, I felt as though Crimson Frost was way more entertaining, way more emotional.. I mean, I almost cried in the first 70 pages of the book. That has got to mean something. And when I wasn’t almost crying, I was cheering on Gwen and company. Which feels like every other page! As a side note, I’d like to say that I was so loud reading this book; freaking out and whatnot, that when my sister yelled playing her game, my dad thought it was me.

I loved how this book came and went. I say “came and went” because I literally read this puppy in 2-3 hours, and I am astonished at that! So much happens in the duration of Crimson Frost. I know I’ve said this previously, but literally so much happens. I feel like Crimson Frost is the tipping point in the Mythos Academy series, and the next two books will be just as action packed, if not more so.

I’m incredibly excited to read the next novel, Midnight Frost. Saying that though, I’m just as anxious as I am nervous, because there’s only Midnight Frost, and then the last freaking book, Killer Frost. And I need and hope that these two characters in the story, get their thing resolved!!!!

I ended up giving Crimson Frost 4 of 5 stars on Goodreads.

Happy Reading!
Adele

One thought on “Crimson Frost, by Jennifer Estep | Book Review #168

Leave a Reply

