Shimmer by Paula Weston | Book Review #163

Hello lovelies! Today’s review is of the book Shimmer, by Paula Weston. Shimmer is the third book in the Rephaim series, so there will be spoilers in this review. You’ve been warned! 

Gaby thought her life couldn’t get more complicated.23210022

She’s almost used to the idea that she’s not the teenage backpacker she thought she was. She can just about cope with being one of the Rephaim–a 139-year-old half-angel–whose memories have been stolen. She’s even coming to grips with the fact that Jude, the brother she’s mourned for a year, didn’t die at all.

But now Rafa–sexy, infuriating Rafa–is being held, and hurt, by Gatekeeper demons. And Gaby has to get the bitterly divided Rephaim to work together, or Rafa has no chance at all.

I have to say, I was expecting there to be a sort of refresher (even though they bother me when I decide to marathon a series), so I could remember what had happened; because when I started this book I couldn’t remember anything that happened in Haze.. When I started the book, I found myself wishing there was a refresher. After finishing Haze quite a while ago, and then picking up and reading Shimmer, I forgot the ending to the last book. I’ve actually pretty much forgotten all of Haze save for a few key moments. However, once I got to around page 100 in Shimmer, some things started to click into place. Not everything, but the one thing that kept Gaby, Gaby.

I’m kinda sad that I predicted a part of the outcome that the story line has. I mean, I’m glad I’m right, but I’m also bummed that the story line went that way. I did (and didn’t) want this character to have been the bad guy, but the questions that Gaby had (and kept to herself) during this book were too eye opening to ignore.

There are so many revelations in this book. I’m not saying that just because the book is about half-angels either; so that pun I made was 100% an accident. But the four words on the cover: “Secrets. Rivalry. Threats. Lies.” All of them are key parts to this book. If not the entire series.

The Rephaim definitely have different sides going for them. They’re so torn about everything, and when they get slapped in the face with truths, I can already tell that they don’t know whose side to be on. However, I believe that they’ll follow their gut instinct. Which in the end will help them immensely. — And there were some events that happen that I didn’t think would happen, but I’m ultimately glad they did. Like certain characters choosing sides that I didn’t think they would ever choose; and it takes a lot of guts to stand up to the Big Man. Big Man isn’t his actual name of course, but calling him that in my review does serve a purpose of less spoilers.

I was hoping that with how the book ended, that the book would go a different way than I thought it would, and I was right! But instead, Weston took the book in a totally different way and leaves the readers with the biggest bombshell there has to be!! No joke! I want to read the last book in the series right now!!

Ultimately, I ended up enjoying reading this book and seeing all of these characters again. I’m looking forward to the next, and final, book called, Burn. I hope that all of these characters get their happily ever after, and that the Big Man gets what he deserves because he’s a lying sack ‘a’ crap! Yes, I just said that. I never liked the Big Man, and I hope he gets scorched by the time Burn ends.

The writing that Paula has done in Shimmer was quite enjoyable. I was easily ensnared within the story and through her writing, the reader gets a thorough look into Gabe’s life.

I ended up giving Shimmer 3 out of 5 stars on Goodreads.

I think that’s all I’ve got to say about this book for now. Thank you so much for reading my review of Shimmer!

Happy Reading!
Adele

One thought on “Shimmer by Paula Weston | Book Review #163

Leave a Reply

