TBR Tuesday #17

Screen Shot 2016-04-10 at 10.22.37 PM

Hello reader/s! I hope you’re well! For a while now, I’ve been writing a weekly or bi-weekly post about books that are on my TBR. TBR, if you don’t know is the abbreviation for To Be Read. My goal here is to shed some light on books that I’ve otherwise forgotten about. These books could be books I’ve been meaning to read from the library, or books that have been collecting dust on my shelves at home. My goal though is to say a little about the book and also give a little reasoning of why I want to read them.

Wow, it’s been so long since I’ve posted a TBR Tuesday! How are you? It’s been getting colder and colder every day this Autumn. I don’t remember being this cold this time of year last year! And my window blinds are still broken, so the cold seeps into my room making it even colder than it actually is. Now, I know you’re here for the books, so lets get onto talking about books!

This weeks books are two books that I’ve been wary about for a while now. One is a Science Fiction book, and the other a New Adult/ Young Adult Fiction novel. In my opinion, they’re both pretty popular! I’ve seen them all over the internet (aka, tumblr).

Red Rising by Pierce Brown is the first book I’m talking about.

img_5014
The thing about Red Rising is that I heard a few things here and there, and then suddenly all at once I was flooded with Red Rising this, Red Rising that. And I have no idea why, but I had initially rejected to the book. Knowing nothing prior about this book and then finding out that it was a Science Fiction novel…really turned me off to potentially reading the story.

Now though, I’m actually interested in reading Red Rising! Maybe I didn’t want to read Red Rising when I first heard of the book was because of my dislike of Science Fiction novels? Who knows. All I know is that I’m now interested in reading Red Rising and I wonder how everything the book has to offer will turn out.

The second book I’m talking about is Losing Hope by Colleen Hoover.

img_5013
Losing Hope is the second novel to Hopeless. I didn’t know what to expect when I first picked up Losing Hope from Chapters a few years ago. However, I’ve come to learn that Hoover books tend to be different from their first novels. For example, Hopeless is in the point of view of Sky. Losing Hope will be in the point of view of Holder.

I’m extremely excited to read this book. However, I’m also extremely anxious to read the novel. I know that Losing Hope will be in Holder’s point of view, and I’m pretty sure that the story line will be revisited via from the start. Which is incredibly anxiety inducing for me (and maybe, you?) if you’ve already read Hopeless. …Then you know what’s up.

Both of these books are incredibly different. So different that the first thing I distinguish between the two of them is their respective genres: Red Rising is a Sci-Fi novel that takes place on Mars, and Losing Hope is rehashing the story via Holder. I don’t know what to expect from either of these novels, and frankly, I’m slightly terrified to read either of these books.

Have you read Red Rising and/or Losing Hope? If you have, what did you think of them? If you haven’t read them, do you think you will? — Thank you for reading my TBR Tuesday post! I hope you have an awesome day.

Happy Reading!
Adele

4 thoughts on “TBR Tuesday #17

Leave a Reply

