Blood Bound by Patricia Briggs | Book Review #129

Hello readers!! I hope you’re all doing okay. Today’s post is a book review on Blood Bound by Patricia Briggs. If you didn’t know already, Blood Bound is the second novel in the Mercy Thompson series. So to avoid spoilers from the book’s description, I’ll be inserting a Read More tag. 

Mechanic Mercy Thompson has friend in low places – and in dark ones. And now she owes one of8388577 them a favor. Since she can shapeshift at will, she agrees to act as some extra muscle when her vampire friend, Stefan, goes to deliver a message to another of his kind. But this new vampire is hardly ordinary – and neither is the demon inside of him.

And the demon-riding vampire has gone on a killing spree unlike any the Tri-Cities have ever seen – one that could threaten the vampires’ secret existence. When the undead and the werewolves sent to find him don’t return, the local vampire queen looks to Mercy for help. A coyote is no match for a demon, but Mercy is immune to many vampiric powers – and those missing are her friends, including the two werewolves circling around her heart.

Game on…

I totally didn’t write notes when I read this book. Whoops! My bad.

I absolutely enjoyed reading this novel. I ended up reading Blood Bound in one sitting, and it was well worth reading into the night. I actually think I finished the book at like, 3 or 4 AM? And then slept the following day away. Ahh, thank the universe for weekends!

As much as I like the last book; Moon Called, I think I like Blood Bound even more. Unlike the last novel, there isn’t much Alpha-werewolf stuff going on. Instead, Mercy is helping out her vampire friend, and I can honestly say, that having this new character that we only saw a few times in the last book, is the focus of this book!

I appreciate the fact that Stefan treats Mercy like a human being, and not a thing to acquire and overcome. To Stefan, I truly believe that he 1- cares for her –deeply– and 2, appreciates her. There isn’t much I can say about Stefan himself except from the normal “he seems nice, but we didn’t really get to know him.” and in the case of this story, that’s absolutely true. The readers don’t get to know Stefan as much as I would have liked to gotten to know him. But it’s not like Mercy and Stefan could go out for a coffee anyway.

As this new event happens in Mercy’s story, we learn more about the supernatural world that is deeply rooted in the Tri-Cities of Washington. We learn a little more about the Vampires and Demons in the Mercy Thompson series, and we take a much need break from Adam and Samuel. Who are both so overly Alpha-males that if this book was focused on them, again, I’m sure that I wouldn’t have had the will-power to continue on with this series.

With this new addition onto Mercy’s life, we can tell by reading the book, that Mercy definitely goes through so much in these pages. There are so many emotions, and as much as I want to say the emotions ran high, the didn’t, really. If anything, there were only two or three times that got my blood pumping. Which reminds me, there’s a scene in this novel that scared the crap out of me. Like, I almost shouted holy shit at 3AM, ahahahaha. I managed to keep my voice down to a normal level though. — I hope I didn’t wake anyone when I did that, though.

As for the rest of the book, there weren’t any times where I thought the story was boring. In fact, the story is pretty much go-go-go from the start. Something that I love seeing in books. Of course there are lulls, but in Blood Bound, the lull would only be like, a paragraph long, and then Mercy would go back to being badass all the time. I’m not saying that the whole entire book is Mercy being the supernatural-world-equivalent of Wonder Woman –even though she really is in my opinion– there are times in the book where things quiet down so Mercy can breathe.

The writing and flow of the story also feel very natural to me. I’ve only read two of Patricia Briggs books, but I actually really like her writing. So far, there hasn’t been a time where I know that I’m reading a book. When I read one of her books, it’s like I open the book, start reading, and literally don’t stop reading until the story is over. And so far, I’m addicted to reading her Mercy Thompson series!!

That’s all for my review on Blood Bound by Patricia Briggs! I’m really loving her stories more than I thought I would. And I’m looking forward to reading the next book in the series, Iron Kissed!

Thank you so much for reading!

Adele

One thought on “Blood Bound by Patricia Briggs | Book Review #129

Leave a Reply

