Fates by Lanie Bross | Book Review #128

IMG_3848

One moment. One foolish desire. One mistake. And Corinthe lost everything.

She fell from her tranquil life in Pyralis Terra and found herself exiled to the human world. Her punishment? To make sure people’s fates unfold according to plan. Now, years later, Corinthe has one last assignment: kill Lucas Kaller. His death will be her ticket home.

But for the first time, Corinthe feels a tingle of doubt. It begins as a lump in her throat, then grows toward her heart, and suddenly she feels like she is falling all over again–this time for a boy she knows she can never have. Because it is written: one of them must live, and one of them must die. In a universe where every moment, every second, every fate has already been decided, where does love fit in?

Fates by Lanie Bross is the first book in a duology. I don’t actually know whether or not that there’s a third book.. So far as I know (as Goodreads tells me) Fates is the first book in the duology, and Chaos is the second book.

I didn’t expect to be drawn into Fates as quickly as I was. The first few pages were incredibly intriguing to me. And from then on, the alternating points of view kept me reading the book. The first point of view we read from is Corinthe. The second view, Lucas, is interesting, but a little dull in my opinion.

Corinthe is very interesting in the fact that she isn’t human. She isn’t from out world. She comes from another world called Pyralis, which she has been exiled from, to Humana, aka: Earth. Corinthe, as much as she doesn’t understand humans is intrigued by them.

Lucas, however, has a very mundane point of view. Lucas is like any other human boy. He plays a sport, and wants to get into college on a scholarship from playing soccer. Lucas also happens to be very family oriented. I didn’t really pick up on anything else from Lucas aside from that he’s fated to love Corinthe.

Some things that I liked about Fates and this story is that the alternating views between Luacs and Corinthe is that the way the two of them think is so different from each other. Corinthe sees everything differently to as Lucas. As she should: she’s not from Earth. As to Lucas, I can’t really get over the fact that he just seemed very…normal. Like a guy that you’d meet on the streets, there’s nothing all that different about him. Nothing that stands out right away.

I picked Fates up at the library, thinking it would be an easy read I was right. There were a lot of things that I thought of this book before I read it. I picked up Fates anyway, because hey why not? Libraries are (mostly) free! Unfortunately, I ended up not really liking Fates at all.

While the creativity, and the descriptions of this complex galaxy are quite unique and lovely, the rest of the book just fell flat. I have no idea if I’ll read the next book Chaos or not. I might, just for curiosities sake, but I can’t find myself enjoying that book as much as I want to.

I had put my expectations of Fate too high (pun unintended!) and the result was that while the adventure was adventurous and entertaining, the book over all was kind of a bummer. I still really enjoy the concept though! I love the mysticalities of the story, and what the overall theme implies: that there’s life all around us, even if we can’t grasp it in our minds or in our hands. It’s there, and will be for a long time!

If you’re interested at all in checking out Fates on Goodreads, you can do so by clicking here.

Thank you for reading my review! If you’ve read Fates, what do/did you think of it? I’d love to know your thoughts and opinions!

Adele

Leave a Reply

