Hunter by Mercedes Lackey | Book Review #127

They came after the Diseray. Some were terrors ripped from our collective imaginations, 24397041remnants of every mythology across the world. And some were like nothing anyone had ever dreamed up, even in their worst nightmares.

Monsters.

Long ago, the barriers between our world and the Otherworld were ripped open, and it’s taken centuries to bring back civilization in the wake of the catastrophe. Now, the luckiest Cits live in enclosed communities, behind walls that keep them safe from the hideous creatures fighting to break through. Others are not so lucky.

To Joyeaux Charmand, who has been a Hunter in her tight-knit mountain community since she was a child, every Cit without magic deserves her protection from dangerous Othersiders. Then she is called to Apex City, where the best Hunters are kept to protect the most important people.

Joy soon realizes that the city’s powerful leaders care more about luring Cits into a false sense of security than protecting them. More and more monsters are getting through the barriers, and the close calls are becoming too frequent to ignore. Yet the Cits have no sense of how much danger they’re in—to them, Joy and her corps of fellow Hunters are just action stars they watch on TV.

When an act of sabotage against Joy takes an unbearable toll, she uncovers a terrifying conspiracy in the city. There is something much worse than the usual monsters infiltrating Apex. And it may be too late to stop them…

I received a copy of Hunter by Mercedes Lackey from the publisher, Disney-Hyperion, via Netgalley, in exchange for an honest review. 

The cover for this book drew me in, and the synopsis was the hook! What deterred me from reading Hunter for so long though, was what people thought of this book. For me personally, I find that Hunter is the type of book that people have severe reactions to. Some people will hate the book. Some people, like myself, really enjoyed and loved the story that Lackey wrote.

Hunter is actually one of the few books I’ve had trouble rating because it was really awesome but there were parts that really bothered me. Like the beginning: literally the first 15% or so of the book is all about setting the story up, but there’s a lot of the history of this Hunter world thrown into that mix. And that, for some people, is what could deter them away. And as for the rest of the book, as the story progresses we continue to learn things in strategic ways; when the story calls for it. So I can totally understand why, myself included, would become uninterested in the book thanks to the beginning.

However, I was warned of this beforehand, because I spoiled myself and read a part of a review. With that in mind, I dove into this book. What I expected this book to be in my head is nothing as to what actually happened in this book.

I get that the story was kind of slow to start, but after that it the pace of the book sped up to the point where I was racing to the end of the book trying to hold on for dear life because I didn’t want the story to end. I still don’t. I want to buy the book and read it again. Then force my sister to read it. Then force my sister-in-law to read it. I want everyone to read Hunter!

The main character in Hunter is named Joyeaux Charmand, which sounds very French. Which is something very interesting indeed, and I hope that there’s more elaboration on this in Elite. Joyeaux also goes by Joy, and I’m glad for that because I cannot pronounce her name properly! Haha. — Joy is smarter, and more powerful than she seems. She’s often underestimated, and there’s evidence of this throughout the book. With Joy’s upbringing, she almost has an insider’s knowledge prior to arriving at the Apex. Which sets her ahead – and apart – from the rest of the Hunters.

I honestly have no idea what to say about Joy. I don’t want to describe her as a character who is like every other YA character out there, but there are too many similarities to ignore. So what sets Joy apart form all the rest is nothing. But that fact doesn’t put her in the same category as all the other female YA leads. Joy cares about the people she calls family deeply. Joy loves and respects her Hounds. So Joy, is something of an enigma to me.

I’m a little irked that this book has some romance in it. The Romance spectre of this book is pretty much all uncalled for, and something that I feel isn’t needed at all.  Who knows though! It could be pertinent to Elite.

Something that I really enjoyed about Hunter is that I was laughing a lot. And there were quite a few times nearing the end of the book where I kept on shouting and cheering Joy on, because I was so wrapped up in this world. Another thing that I like about this book is the fact that this book made me jump back in my seat a little, at times. I had to put space between myself and my e-reader because of something that had popped up in the story! Me jumping back doesn’t happen often, and if it does, then I don’t realize it, haha!

Hunter actually has an awesome ending that I read quite a few times!!!!! I love love, love the ending to this book. I’ve actually read it like, 5 times now. The ending is so awesome and Joy is so badass.

With Fantasy/Dystopian novels, there’s always a chance that the characters in their worlds may have a weird way of talking. Hunter is no exception to this. And while this usually bothers me, I didn’t find myself bothered. The changes on words are so simplified that it didn’t matter to me because I still knew what they were talking about. For example, the word ‘Binoculars’ was shortened to ‘Binocs.’ And while at first I was like, “what??” and then it occurred to me that it was just shortened down. And for the time frame that this book takes place in -the far future- I was surprised that there were some phrases from our time that lasted that long into the future!

Hunter is a Young Adult Fantasy Dystopian novel. I would definitely recommend this book to all who love a good story that keeps you on your toes.

Now that I’ve finished Hunter…all I can think of is Why did I wait so long to read this book?” and When can I get my hands on the next instalment, Elite???” 

Thank you so much for reading my review! If you’ve read Hunter, or are now interested in reading the book, tell me!!!! I would love to talk about this book with someone since it seems that no one has read the whole book.

Adele

3 thoughts on “Hunter by Mercedes Lackey | Book Review #127

Leave a Reply

