Moon Called by Patricia Briggs | Book Review #114

Mercedes “Mercy” Thompson is a talented Volkswagen mechanic living in the Tri-Cities area of 71811Washington. She also happens to be a walker, a magical being with the power to shift into a coyote at will. Mercy’s next-door neighbor is a werewolf. Her former boss is a gremlin. And she’s fixing a bus for a vampire. This is the world of Mercy Thompson, one that looks a lot like ours but is populated by those things that go bump in the night. And Mercy’s connection to those things is about to get her into some serious hot water…

Hello all! Today I’m reviewing Moon Called by Patricia Briggs. I’ve honestly had my eye on this book since it came out in 2011. So Moon Called has been on my TBR for a while now! But I recently borrowed a copy of the book from the library and got the chance to read the story!! Let me tell you, this book was everything and nothing like I expected. 

Moon Called is one of those books for me where I know what’s going to happen, because after a while all of the supernatural stories start to blend together to form the same story. In this story though, Moon Called took me by surprise while still being…what I expected this story to be.

Moon Called is an Adult Fantasy novel where the main character is a were-being, and the rest of the world knows about Fae and the different types of Fae. Of course, they have an inkling of all the other creatures out there, but it’s more like an open-secret. The challenges that the characters face in this first novel surprised me somewhat. I never thought that there would be this much action in Moon Called, or this much emotion.

Usually when I read an Adult Fantasy novel where there are supernatural beings, the writer usually has the main character, and their were-being compartmentalized as two different entities. However, it’s unusual for me to find and read a book where the main character and their shifting abilities are together as one. — I know that may sound really messed up, but I have no other way of putting it, ahah.

Moon Called has one point of view and this view, this character is in my opinion totally badass. Mercy is the type of character where she is very alpha, but in her own way. As far as she knows, Mercy is the only one of her kind. With being able to shift into a Coyote, Mercy doesn’t really belong to any pack. What I like most about Mercy is that she’s the character who doesn’t take shit from anyone — if she can help it. If she can’t help but back down, Mercy is the kind of person who’d do something that would piss that person off, but act all innocent about it. I honestly love that type of person.

Even though Mercy lives in a were-society/world where literally everything is so freaking sexist that it bothers me -to the extreme!!- I couldn’t help but enjoy this novel. I enjoyed getting to know all the characters through Mercy’s eyes. I enjoyed all the action and surprisingly, there’s no sex in this novel. I’m sure there’ll be sex in the next book, but for there to be no sex in Moon Called is pretty unheard of in my opinion. I don’t mind though! The no-sex-thing didn’t bother me at all while reading because the magic, and revenge well took up all the time that Mercy and the other characters had.

What bothers me though is that while reading this book I couldn’t get into reading it. Like, I wasn’t placed in the book at certain moments. Usually with were-books I’m catapulted into the story and I don’t stop reading until I’m done with the book. What bothers me even more though is that while I was reading, I could actually separate myself form the story and think about other things while still knowing what I was reading. That doesn’t usually happen to me, so I’m going to say that this book could’ve been stronger in some scenes, but I’m glad it wasn’t because then I don’t think I could’ve imagined the story as well as I did.

Moon Called is the first in the Mercy Thompson series, and I am going to read the next book, Blood Bound. I love Mercy too much to let her and her story go.

That’s all for my review of Moon Called! Thank you so much for reading, and if you’re interested in reading this book, you can check it out on Goodreads! If you click the books cover above, you’ll be led to Moon Called over on Goodreads.

Thanks again!

Adele

One thought on “Moon Called by Patricia Briggs | Book Review #114

Leave a Reply

