Tiger’s Curse by Colleen Houck | Book Review #110

9284655Passion. Fate. Loyalty.

Would you risk it all to change your destiny?

The last thing Kelsey Hayes thought she’d be doing this summer was trying to break a 300-year-old Indian curse. With a mysterious white tiger named Ren. Halfway around the world. But that’s exactly what happened. Face-to-face with dark forces, spellbinding magic, and mystical worlds where nothing is what it seems, Kelsey risks everything to piece together an ancient prophecy that could break the curse forever.

Tiger’s Curse is the exciting first volume in an epic fantasy-romance that will leave you breathless and yearning for more.”

My only question I have about this book is this: Why did I wait so long to read it?

Even though I ended up really liking this story, there are a few things that bothered me…

The story behind it all is very intriguing, and seriously captivated me. I ended up reading Tiger’s Curse in one sitting. Even though I stayed up later than I normal would this week, and that resulted in me having a headache.

I liked the characters in this story. There’s only one point of view, but there are four main characters that we see throughout the book. With Kelsey being the main point of view in this first book, I don’t really know what to think of her.

Kelsy is the character who puts animals before herself. She’s actually very courageous, and seems to do things without thinking of the consequences first. And what actually kinda bothers me about her is that Kelsey is the kind of person who thinks out loud.

“Why does everything so bad for you always taste so dreamy?”

The beginning of the book, was a very rocky start for me. I liked the world and where the story was going, but I disliked the characters so much. The characters conversed in a way that was more appropriate for a video game, and Kelsey would talk to the other characters in a way that she was addressing both the reader, and the person she was talking to. I couldn’t really get along with that. I am so glad that I endured that though, because the way that Kelsey and the other characters conversed fell away into a more natural way of talking. A few times though, Kelsey would revert back to her old ways and just start talking out loud, which was fine, because they were more like one-liners than a full on conversation. And after the “game-talk” fell away, the story didn’t feel as choppy, or as forced as it was while the “game-talk” was on.

Dhiren, or, Ren, is a great character in my opinion. Maybe I have favour to him because he doesn’t have his thought conversations out loud? Whatever the reason actually is, I’m glad that the story played out the way it was so that Ren could be the person he is.

The book has a good amount of action woven into the story as well, which I thought was cute, in it’s own way. There’s also references into our day an age, but before like 2011. Which actually makes a lot of sense because the book was published in ’11. Even though there’s an alright amount of action, there’re quite a few lulls and dips where the action fizzles out, and the characters seem to be in their own groove again.

“He seemed very pleased with himself for surviving a near-death experience. I could practically hear him chanting to himself: I overcame. I conquered. I’m a man etc etc.”

For all the action in this book, there is quite a lot of teenage angst, and a shite ton of pent up feelings. Which leads me to my next part of how the book bothered me: about 3/4’s of the way through, there seems to be a love-triangle that forms. Like, Kelsey doesn’t feel that way about said character, but said character feels that way about Kelsey. I can just feel it, and in the second book, I bet there’s going to be some action that plays on those feelings and just screw up the entire plot of the story. It’ll shoot it all the hell and back. Also, another quick thing that miffed me: the love interest in this novel is literally almost 300 years old, and frankly, I was so put off by that, that I almost stopped reading the book, just because this book which is creative in its own right, was playing into so many YA tropes that bother me so much.

For the characters that do feel that way about each other, things get pretty heavy between them. There’s enough of this attraction, I guess you could call it, even though it’s more than attraction, to say that this book has a good amount of angsty-steamy moments. Hot and heavy for suuuurrree!!!

Which then brings me to the ending of the book. Endings to books are just as important as the rest of the book in my opinion, and the way that Houck ended this book… I can tell that there’s going to be some serious heartbreak in the rest of the series. I mean, my heart  ached when I read the last sentence. That sentence completely ruined me and I literally had to read the sentence like 10 times just to get over my grief.

“Vampire sea horse monkeys? Are you serious?”

I have to say, in my last few comments in this review, that the way Kelsey handled things was very mature of her, and probably one of the only things she did which I agreed with wholeheartedly.

All in all, I really like this book, even though there were quite a few things that bothered me, and which that I found troubling. I will be continuing on with the series, not right away though. I have to give some time between each book. I’m worried though, that the next book will start up again like Tiger’s Curse did, in that the book started with “Video Game RPG Talk.”

Thank you for reading my review of Tiger’s Curse by Colleen Houck! I can’t believe I didn’t get around to reading this book sooner. And the cover of Tiger’s Curse is absolutely gorgeous, no?! — If you want to check out Tiger’s Curse on GoodReads, all you have to do is click the cover above!

Adele

One thought on “Tiger’s Curse by Colleen Houck | Book Review #110

Leave a Reply

