Finding Paris by Joy Preble | Book Review #106

22864861An evocative and compelling story of two sisters who would do anything for each other—perfect for fans of Thirteen Reasons Why and Speak. Joy Preble’s stirring new novel explores the lengths to which sisters go to protect each other, and the winding road that brings two strangers into each other’s lives.

Sisters Leo and Paris Hollings have only ever had each other to rely on. They can’t trust their mother, who hops from city to city and from guy to guy, or their gambler stepfather, who’s moved them all to Las Vegas. It’s just the two of them: Paris, who’s always been the dreamer, and Leo, who has a real future in mind—going to Stanford, becoming a doctor, falling in love. But Leo isn’t going anywhere right now, except driving around Vegas all night with her sister.

Until Paris ditches Leo at the Heartbreak Hotel Diner, where moments before they had been talking with physics student Max Sullivan. Outside, Leo finds a cryptic note from Paris—a clue. Is it some kind of game? Where is Paris, and why has she disappeared? When Leo reluctantly accepts Max’s offer of help, the two find themselves following a string of clues through Vegas and beyond. But the search for the truth is not a straight line. And neither is the path to secrets Leo and Max hold inside.”

Trigger Warning: Rape, Pedophilia, Incest, Sexual Abuse, Molestation.

When I first read this story, I didn’t know what to expect. I had no idea. I didn’t even write down any predictions. I got swept up in the story I was reading. I had to know the ending and once I finished the book it was like I was ripped apart in so many ways. Betrayed. Yet by the actual end of the book, I was okay. Finding Paris ripped me apart and put me back together again.

The relationship that these two sisters have with each other is nothing but amazing because if I were any of the two sisters, I would’ve not been like them at all. What the two sisters; Leo and Paris, have done for each other… its simply astounding. I would do the exact same thing for my sister.

There is only one MC in this book, Leo, and she is so strong. But Finding Paris also focuses on Paris, and Max. I didn’t know what to think of Max. He was kind of a shady character but by the end I could tell that this one was a keeper!

Finding Paris broke my heart in so many ways. By the end of the book, you realized what has happened and that completely blindsided me. At the word on the last page though, even through all that emotional turmoil, I have a sense of feeling that if Leo and Paris were real characters, everything, in time, would turn out to be okay. Better than okay, I hope.

Now, that ending, holy SHIT. I wasn’t expecting that ending at all. Like, way to go. The plot twist carried so much emotional baggage. It was insane. Like, once I realized what had happened not only was I like, fuck. but I was also like, oh my god. this poor baby.

The writing in this book is so fluid. Its so easy to read this book, to get caught up in everything. I literally couldn’t put the book down. Not once. Finding Paris was a one sit read for me. Holy smokes.

Thank you for reading my review of Finding Paris. You can click the books’ cover to be lead to Finding Paris on Goodreads.

Adele

Advertisements

One thought on “Finding Paris by Joy Preble | Book Review #106

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s