Asunder by Jodi Meadows | Book Review #99

IMG_3415

Asunder is the second book to Incarnate and if you haven’t read the first book yet, and plan on reading the first book, I’m suggesting you don’t read this review. If you don’t want to read this book, and want to get a feel of what I thought of Asunder, then read away!

The thrilling and romantic second novel in the Incarnate trilogy, a fantasy series about a girl who is the first new soul born into a society where everyone else has been reborn hundreds of times.

As a Newsoul, Ana has always felt alone. Some residents of Heart are afraid of Ana’s presence, a constant reminder of unstoppable change and the unknown. When the people turn violent, Ana must learn to stand up not only for herself, but also for those who cannot stand up for themselves.

What a great addition to the Newsoul series Asunder is. There were some things that I found to be quite predictable, and there were events that I hadn’t predicted. Either way, I really enjoyed reading Asunder.

“It seems love is the most important thing. Someone who doesn’t love us and uses us to hurt others was never worth our devotion.”

Asunder is filled with adventure, and a ton of emotions. I can’t even begin to describe all the emotions, and I’m not 100% sure that I want to. I know that there’s a lot of love, and there’s a lot of anger. With a dash of disbelief, and quite a lot of grief mixed in there as well.

What I like about the opening to Asunder is that the author doesn’t shove the all of the events of the last book in your face. There’s a brief recap of the ending in Incarnate, and then the story to Asunder begins, with the last book explained when the need arises. That is honestly the best way in my opinion, to open up any book(s) in a series after the first book. Speaking of opening scenes, the first few chapters are very adventurous, and well, creepy for a lack of a better word. — Honestly, I had to stop reading a few times because I was so creeped out.

“It was our relationship, so what other people thought shouldn’t matter.”

With Asunder we meet some new characters, and there are a lot of new “Aha!” moments that Ana has. She’s honestly so smart. She’s one of those people who if I were to meet them in real life, I would be immensely jealous of. Ana is the type of person who picks up things naturally and then soon masters that ability. It blows my mind.

The writing, the imagination to create this story, is awesome. I was creeped out a few times during this story–rightfully so in my opinion.

“The sylph twitched – acknowledgement – and a tendril of shadow blossomed like a black rose, then fell to my feet.”

P.S.: I got really wrapped up in the story, so I totally forgot to take notes like I usually do.

“I lifted my hand toward the black smoke. People hissed, but when my fingers passed through, there was only uncomfortable warmth. The sylph hummed, calmer.”

Thank you for reading my review of Asunder by Jodi Meadows.

Adele

One thought on “Asunder by Jodi Meadows | Book Review #99

Leave a Reply

