Incarnate by Jodi Meadows | Book Review #98

8573642-2

New soul

Ana is new. For thousands of years in Range, a million souls have been reincarnated over and over, keeping their memories and experiences from previous lifetimes. When Ana was born, another soul vanished, and no one knows why.

No soul

Even Ana’s own mother thinks she’s a nosoul, an omen of worse things to come, and has kept her away from society. To escape her seclusion and learn whether she’ll be reincarnated, Ana travels to the city of Heart, but its citizens are afraid of what her presence means. When dragons and sylph attack the city, is Ana to blame?

Heart

Sam believes Ana’s new soul is good and worthwhile. When he stands up for her, their relationship blooms. But can he love someone who may live only once, and will Ana’s enemies—human and creature alike—let them be together? Ana needs to uncover the mistake that gave her someone else’s life, but will her quest threaten the peace of Heart and destroy the promise of reincarnation for all?”

I read Incarnate as a buddy-read with my friend Becca, who is girlwiththebookinherhand on tumblr, and a group moderator for her group, the No Judgement Book Club. You should join the group if you haven’t already!!! 

A really interesting theory that the story is based on, is that old souls exist, and we’re reincarnated. Well, in this story it’s true. Like 100% true, and it’s a given fact that when you die in this world, you’ll be reincarnated. A million souls have been reincarnated for a long time. I had an inkling into the story that the main character Ana, could see and recognize certain souls, given the fact that she’s a new soul.

I actually really liked this story. I had previously judged this book based on the books synopsis. But because my friend Becca wanted to read it, I  decided to give Incarnate a try. I’m so glad that I gave this book a chance because I actually ended up loving the story! There are a few things that I like about the story, but with that comes the fact that there are a few things that bothered me, and I didn’t like. Let’s start with the things I did like.

I liked the mythicality of this book. There are dragons, and other beings that I’ve forgotten the name of but are a important part of the story.. I liked a few of the characters as well! I appreciate the act that this book is told in Ana’s point of view because if it were for any other character view, the book wouldn’t be the same – at all.

I appreciate the fact that despite everything that has happened to Ana, she’s still herself, in her own way. Like, Ana doesn’t trust everyone right away. And when she still learns to trust the people she does trust, she still keeps them a little bit away from her because of the way that she grew up — this is just Ana instinctively protecting herself the only way she knows how. With that been said, Ana is in no way weak. She’s not weak at all.  Ana is smart, and very capable of doing many things. I like the connections Ana has with people. Ana is really a people person because she seems to get along greatly with the people who give her a chance. For a new soul, it seems like she puts everyone at ease.

The love interest in this novel is both refreshing and bothersome. If you’ve read this book you know why, and if you haven’t read this book and you do decide to read it, you’ll find out why.

There a quite a few things I don’t like about this book. I absolutely loathe Li. If I had the ability to jump into this book and meet Li myself, I would just slap the shite out of her in Ana’s defence. I also hate how prejudice everyone is to Ana. The people’s reactions to Ana bothers me so much that I had a lot of trouble reading those parts. Yes, parts. People openly scorn and verbally abuse Ana when she’s near them. Really the only full protection she has in this book is in a home that isn’t even hers.

The writing in Incarnate is very good. The writing is clear, and I could picture everything so well. Reading the book and just picturing everything was great. It really was like watching a movie. We learn the history as Ana discovers, or thinks about it. For me at least, I thought that some parts of the book were so YA typical. Incarnate is a fast paced, engrossing story that I was excited to come back to, every time I put the book down to rest. I really felt like I was immersed into the story whenever I picked up the book.

I’m glad that there were answers to Ana’s questions. I’m glad that we got to know certain things that Ana has questioned her whole life. And I’m surprised that we got to see a character we didn’t know if they were alive or not, even in the short period that we saw them in. The story is still a little confusing to think that there are these souls who’ve been reincarnated for like thousands of years. However, by the end of the book, all Ana and I have are more questions!

‘”I hate being a teenager.” “Why?”
“Hormones.”
With a sad half smile, he left.’

Thank you for reading my review on Incarnate by Jodi Meadows. If you decide to read (or have already read) Incarnate, leave me a comment below! I’d love to know what you think and/or thought of this world and Ana’s story.

You can be lead to Incarnate on GoodRead’s by clicking the books cover above.

Thanks again!

Adele

2 thoughts on “Incarnate by Jodi Meadows | Book Review #98

Leave a Reply

