When My Heart Was Wicked by Tricia Sterling | Book Review #94

22749511

TRIGGER WARNING: Self-Harm, Suicide Attempts, and Child Abuse

“I used to be one of those girls. The kind who loved to deliver bad news. When I colored my hair, I imagined it seeping into my scalp, black dye pooling into my veins.

But that was the old Lacy. Now, when I cast spells, they are always for good.”

16-year-old Lacy believes that magic and science can work side by side. She’s a botanist who knows how to harness the healing power of plants. So when her father dies, Lacy tries to stay with her step-mother in Chico, where her magic is good and healing. She fears the darkness that her real mother, Cheyenne, brings out, stripping away everything that is light and kind.

Yet Cheyenne never stays away for long. Beautiful, bewitching, unstable Cheyenne who will stop at nothing, not even black magic, to keep control of her daughter’s heart. She forces Lacy to accompany her to Sacramento, and before long, the “old” Lacy starts to resurface.

But when Lacy survives a traumatic encounter, she finds herself faced with a choice. Will she use her powers to exact revenge and spiral into the darkness forever? Or will she find the strength to embrace the light?

While this book was written well, and the main character Lacy, is interesting enough, When My Heart Was Wicked didn’t really stick with me at all. I don’t have any profound moments to look back on. To me, When My Heart Was Wicked is a book about who you surround yourself with, and letting go of the bad things you may have done in your past to move onto better things.

When My Heart Was Wicked is definitely a smaller book; it’s 192 pages, on the scale of the size the average Young Adult book is. I found the beginning to be a very slow one. The writing in this book seems to be like the view of the Lacy is in the present, but then we would read something out of her memory.

‘I stare at the moon. The man in the moon, forever trapped in a howl, stares back.’

Lacy’s story seems to be that of, bad things happened to her, but when she moved to live with her dad everything seemed to change. She grew to be this girl who would be nice, and wouldn’t want to do bad things to people. She wanted to go out and help people, not hurt them.

‘”I do love you,” I whisper. But I know what the butterfly knows. The struggle to leave the cocoon is what strengthens the butterfly’s wings so she can fly. I am about to become something beautiful.’

When My Heart Was Wicked by Tricia Sterling is a book that I’m not really sure what it’s about honestly. If anything, the point of this story is to see that some people; even if they’re your family, aren’t good for who you want to be. The writing in this book is definitely one I don’t see often. There are harsh truths to this story, and then there are moments when the writing; Lacy’s thoughts are very prevalent. Lacy’s choices really truly define her.

That’s all for my review of When My Heart Was Wicked. I wish there was more to say, I do. I get bummed out when a book I was looking forward to turns out to be just all right.

tumblr_o55oke3dar1s4rzugo1_1280

Thanks for reading my review of When My Hear Was Wicked by Tricia Sterling. You can find this book on GoodRead’s by clicking the books cover at the top of the post.

Adele

2 thoughts on “When My Heart Was Wicked by Tricia Sterling | Book Review #94

Leave a Reply

