TBR Tuesday | #1

Screen Shot 2016-04-10 at 10.22.37 PM

 

Hello reader/s! I hope you’re well today! I’ve recently decided to have a weekly post about books that are on my TBR. TBR, if you don’t know is the abbreviation for To Be Read. My goal here is to shed some light on books that I’ve otherwise forgotten about. These books could be books I’ve been meaning to read from the library, or books that have been collecting dust on my shelves at home. My goal though is to say a little about the book and also give a little reasoning of why I want to read them.

IMG_3297 (1).jpg

Two books on my To Be Read list are Second Chance Summer, and The Young Elites.

IMG_3304.jpg

Second Chance Summer by Morgan Matson has been on my TBR for a while. When I say a while, I mean a few years at least. I have no idea how I came to own this book. I checked the book if I had bought it from a used bookstore, but the book didn’t have the markings of the store I usually buy books from. I think I probably bought it from Chapters (Indigo). I remember watching one of Ariel Bissett’s videos. If memory serves me correctly, I believe she recommended the book. And then I put it on my shelf in my Stand Alone section and it was left there.. Then I watched Jesse from jessethereader’s video called April Reads and in the first part of the video he says the book causes “a lot of feelings.” and that this book is basically about this family who isn’t all that tightly knit. They’re busy all the time and their schedules overlap. Then the family learns some devastating news, and plan to spend the summer together.

I mostly want to read this book because I can 100% get that the family isn’t tightly knit. My family is like that as well; except we choose not to spend time with one another. More often than not my parents are fighting. Which means I’m in my room more often than not, where I’m most at peace. I’, looking forward to reading this book because I’m hoping to get a case of the feels, and just to see a family come back together again.

IMG_3288

I want to read The Young Elites because I’m excited and intrigued about this whole world.

The Young Elites by Marie Lu is on my TBR list because the books description is very intriguing. I want to know what exactly caused the deadly blood fever. I want to know about all the powers these people have now because of it. It’s a pretty easy assumption as to why the Kingdom wants them (these people with powers) destroyed but I want to know why. There are so many Why’s I have. I also want to know though, how it all came to be, how they’re all surviving.

With reading the book description that’s up on GoodReads, I can already tell that there’s a good chance that there are multiple points of view. While I’m not too excited about that, I am however expectant that there will be vast different views that each person has.

I’m most excited to read this book for the sole purpose of two sentences that are in the synopsis: “It is my turn to use. My turn to hurt.”

That is all for my first TBR Tuesday post! I hope you enjoyed reading. For this first post I decided to select a book that was published a while ago, and a book that was published more recently. I have no idea when I’m going to get around to reading these books, but I am excited for them!!! For totally different reasons: I’d like to read a book more family based, family oriented. I’d also want to read a book that’s more focused on the character who wants revenge.

Anyway! I hope you enjoyed reading. This was fun for me to write! I really enjoyed gushing about these books -and my expectations of them- before actually reading them.

Thank you so much for reading.

Adele

3 thoughts on “TBR Tuesday | #1

  1. Samantha says:

    I think I want to pick up the Young Elites eventually too. I have Legend, the first book in Marie Lu’s other series that I still need to read and I actually own it (which is rare). Have you read that series?

    Like

    • adeleclayton says:

      I’ve read the first book, Legend. I think I’m going to have to re-read Legend to continue on with the trilogy. I remember what happened, but I’d like to get a refresher on that story 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

