Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater | Book Review #86

tumblr_o3vznmPJOK1s4rzugo1_540

For years, Grace has watched the wolves in the woods behind her house. One yellow-eyed wolf—her wolf—is a chilling presence she can’t seem to live without.

Meanwhile, Sam has lived two lives: In winter, the frozen woods, the protection of the pack, and the silent company of a fearless girl. In summer, a few precious months of being human… until the cold makes him shift back again.

Now, Grace meets a yellow-eyed boy whose familiarity takes her breath away. It’s her wolf. It has to be. But as winter nears, Sam must fight to stay human—or risk losing himself, and Grace, forever.”

Just an FYI for those of you who don’t know, Shiver is the first in the The Wolves of Mercy Falls trilogy.

I don’t really go for werewolf stories because almost 100% of the time the story ends up being exactly like a cheesy ’50’s werewolf movie, and that just turns me off so freaking much. With Shiver, though, the werewolf cheesiness isn’t really there. Really the story focuses more on the characters.

I will say that the beginning is a little extreme. OK, it’s a really extreme opening scene. But that scene is short and bittersweet, ending very quickly. That opening scene though really sets the tone for the rest of the book though. I’ve never really thought about books that way, but with Shiver, the opening scene is really important. Right in the beginning Stiefvater shows us how vicious these werewolves could be in her story.

There are two points of view, and I didn’t think I would end up liking these views as much as I did? Once I started reading them though, I was delighted. I couldn’t get enough of Grace and Sam. I actually stayed up until 1AM reading Shiver. I couldn’t put the book down. I had to finish it in one sitting. – Anyway, I fell so in-love with Grace and Sam. They’re both very different people, yet they fit so snuggly together. Like, they’re two peas in a pod. They’re the puzzle piece that the other one needs.

I love Grace and Sam. They’re awesome. They both care for each other, and their relationship makes me want to have a relationship like that. In the good parts anyway. How when they’re so happy that they’re together.

I like that Grace isn’t the stereoptypical gushy-gushy girl. She’s really matter of fact. And on the other hand, Sam is like, the complete opposite. He’s not 100% gushy-gushy, but he is more sensitive to his feelings than Grace is. I love how, stereotypically speaking of course, that these two main characters are pretty much opposites of what the media has portrayed our sexes to be.

There are so many emotions in Shiver though, like holy shit. Emotions are high, and flying all over the place! Along with that though, there’s as much love in this story as there is grief. But I really think that there’s more Grief in this story than any other emotion. Yeah, there’s a lot of Happiness, Sadness & Anger, but underneath all of that, there’s always this underlying grief. It really felt like to me, even from the beginning, both Grace and Sam knew what was going to happen when Winter came.

With all the love in the story though, these two have loved each other from a distance for years. So when they finally meet, they fall even harder for each other. And honestly that just makes it really hard for Grace and Sam by the end. Sam and Grace have found love where it counts though, and that’s really all that matters.

I was actually surprised that this one character was killed off, because why? Why would did they have to die? But I’m not really mourning them at all. They were a jerk at best so it’s really no loss to me at all. What I am surprised about is that they showed more emotion during their end of their life that they wanted to. It was all unintentional. But the way that Steifvater just wrote them off surprised me as well.

Shiver is an easy read in my opinion. The story flows really well, which is great. And Shiver is like one of the few books that Steifvater has made me cry over. Like, I had quite a few tears by the end of the book. And you could totally read Shiver as a stand alone! That’s what I’m actually doing for now because I don’t want this first book to be tarnished by Linger (the second book)! I don’t want to know what happens next! I like how this first book ends!

Thank you for reading my review of Shiver! I didn’t think I would end up liking Grace and Sam’s story as much as I did. But I do, and now I’m hooked, and I’m really wanting this whole trilogy in those black covers? They’re so pretty. Now that I’ve actually read Shiver I can’t stop ogling over the black editions.. And they come as a trilogy boxed set, which doesn’t help me AT ALL. — You can click the cover for Shiver below to be lead to said book on GoodReads!

6068551

PS – I just freaking noticed the wolf on the cover??

Until next time,

Adele

4 thoughts on “Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater | Book Review #86

Leave a Reply

