Dead Ringer by Jessie Rosen | ARC – Book Review #85

28634339

From the moment Laura Rivers steps foot into Englewood High, she notices the stares-and they aren’t the typical once-overs every pretty new girl endures. The students seem confused and…spooked. Whispers echoing through the halls confirm that something is seriously off. “That new girl looks just like her,” they say. It turns out Laura has a doppelganger, and it isn’t just anyone-it’s Sarah Castro-Tanner, the girl who killed herself by jumping into the Navasink River one year ago. Laura is determined not to let the gossip ruin her chances of making a fresh start. Thanks to her charming personality and California tan, she catches the eye of Englewood’s undisputed golden boy, Charlie Sanders, and it’s only a matter of time before they make their relationship official. But something is making Charlie and his friends paranoid-and Laura soon discovers it has to do with Sarah Castro-Tanner. What really happened to Sarah? Why is Charlie unraveling? And how does Laura Rivers fit into it all? After all, she’s the dead ringer for a dead girl.”

I was given a copy of Dead Ringer by Full Fathom Five Digital Publishing via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

The fact that I was given a copy will in no way depict how I feel about this book.

So there are three points of view to this book:

The first POV we see from is Laura. The whole story is pretty much based around her, and I didn’t really like her character at all. I found her to be too convenient. She was always there at the right time, she always knew what cards to play, and really when to strike.

Then there’s Charlie, the boy who pretty much came from nothing, then became the “king” of high school; I thought he was an alright character. There isn’t really much to Charlie. We see him have panic attacks; which sucks for him because they’re pretty extreme, but I like that the author had him have panic attacks because there isn’t enough covered anywhere where it says that “Hello! Males have panic attacks, too!!

The last POV is from Sasha. I thought that Sasha’s character was alright. There really wasn’t much to this character to be honest. All we really see of Sasha is what she does online. Halfway through the book though, it’s like the author changed her mind about this character and decided to let her join the party. Which I’m okay with. Sasha isn’t one of those preppy girls, she’s more of a behind the scenes type girl. And Sasha is out for answers. Also, Sasha is wicked smart.

I don’t know about where you all grew up, and your school’s grammar lessons, but throughout like, grade 2-12 my schools had the 5 W system. The how, the what, the who, the where, and the why. I never thought of putting the 5 W system to reviews before, but comparing the 5 W system against any mystery novel, and then suddenly the book(s) make sense.

For Dead Ringer, I would say definitely say that all the W’s belong to Laura. The How, the What, the Who, the Where and the Why definitely all fit Laura. The Why and the Where could belong to Charlie. And Sasha’s could be the How, the What and the Why.

I made a pretty big prediction and I was right. But it’s a complicated right that would lead to spoilers, so I won’t say what my predictions was. Just know that I made that prediction about 60-75% into the book. But at 65% into reading the story, making all predictions is absolutely useless; unless you’re like, a mystery novel connoisseur. My predictions became useless though because of a huge plot twist that literally rendered me useless. I didn’t expect the twist to happen at all.

Over all I found Dead Ringer to be pretty boring.. I couldn’t connect with any of the three characters because the Points of View changed so frequently. So whenever I tried to read Dead Ringer, I always felt like I was actually reading. – And that in itself led me to take so long reading the book. I think it took me about 4-5 months for me to finally finish reading Dead Ringer.- I will admit that there are times that when I read Dead Ringer I’d be immersed into the story, but then suddenly I wasn’t in the story. I was catapulted back into my life, and I was this outsider just intruding on this made up world.

I wouldn’t want to read this book again, and I don’t  think that I’ll be continuing on with the second book to Dead Ringer, although I am interested in what happens next. I just don’t think I’ll be able to sit through reading another part of this story.

Thank you for reading my review of Dead Ringer! If you do decide to read Dead Ringer, tell me what you’ve thought of it. If you’ve already read Dead Ringer, what did you think?

Thanks for reading!

Adele

One thought on “Dead Ringer by Jessie Rosen | ARC – Book Review #85

Leave a Reply

