The Deal by Elle Kennedy | Book Review #83

tumblr_o3shlkuTyY1s4rzugo1_540

She’s about to make a deal with the college bad boy…

Hannah Wells has finally found someone who turns her on. But while she might be confident in every other area of her life, she’s carting around a full set of baggage when it comes to sex and seduction. If she wants to get her crush’s attention, she’ll have to step out of her comfort zone and make him take notice…even if it means tutoring the annoying, childish, cocky captain of the hockey team in exchange for a pretend date.

…and it’s going to be oh so good

All Garrett Graham has ever wanted is to play professional hockey after graduation, but his plummeting GPA is threatening everything he’s worked so hard for. If helping a sarcastic brunette make another guy jealous will help him secure his position on the team, he’s all for it. But when one unexpected kiss leads to the wildest sex of both their lives, it doesn’t take long for Garrett to realize that pretend isn’t going to cut it. Now he just has to convince Hannah that the man she wants looks a lot like him.

Trigger Warning: Rape Mention, and Abuse Mention.

The Deal is the first book in a series written by Elle Kennedy. I didn’t know what to expect when I first requested the book, and frankly, to put it short: I was putting off reading it.. I should have read The Deal sooner! Beware, this review contains a few spoilers…

The Deal; aside from the very seriousness matter of the Trigger Warnings, is a great book. We don’t see the rape happen; live that is, we see it years later through Hannah’s memory, and we don’t see the abuse happen. What we do see happen is two people healing. We see two characters, Garrett and Hannah, who have great chemistry for each other by the way, fall in love. We see them in all sorts of life’s trials. The two are in their junior years of college. Both have their lives ahead of them. One knows what they want in life, their life is pretty much planned out. The other knows what they want, but not what they want to do in life. So I feel that that’s a realistic view of college. Not everyone knows what they want, but some people do.

Apart from that, there are some very sexy, hot & steamy scenes in this book that had me wanting more. If you don’t like books with explicit sex scenes, then I would suggest that maybe this book isn’t for you. If you’re like me, and you don’t mind them then I would suggest that you pick up The Deal and read it! And this book really beats down on the stereotype that all Jocks are dumb.

The characters had me laughing, and sighing, and ugghhh. The story in this book is just very realistic. Not only that but the story is raw and honest. There aren’t many books I feel that are honest in a way that make me think “yeah, that could happen.” – It doesn’t help my case when I say that I primarily read Fantasy novels…but The Deal isn’t a Fantasy novel. The Deal is a New Adult novel that has quickly become one of my favourites. I wish I could keep this book forever but I have to return it to the library soon, haha. I laughed out loud reading this book quite a few times; which doesn’t happen often to be honest.

I like that we got to know the characters for who they are separately, and who they are together as a couple.

And Garrett, holy crap!! He’s such a jackass. Even Hannah admits that. But she and I love that about him. He’s also very prudish, and has a lot of charm. Garrett’s also very sexy, which I didn’t think I would find that I’d feel that way about him. But I do.

Hannah! Gosh. What to say, holy moly. She’s one smart cookie! She knows how to hold her ground. She’s honestly so great.

With Garrett and Hannah, I would say that they have one of the most refreshing, honest relationships that I’ve read in a long time. They’re honestly so great together. Both Hannah and Garrett are sarcastic, but they’re also very real with each other. I also find that they have a really healthy relationship. When one is down, the other tries to pick them up and usually that works.

I read The Deal in one sitting and I’m so glad I did. Garret and Hannah have great chemistry. The chemistry those two have are great both in and out of bed!! My last thought’s on this book are that I am so happy that The Deal is a standalone! And throughout this book, with the characters who matter, there are great relationships. Whether if the relationships are romantic or not.

Thank you for reading my review on The Deal. Click the book’s cover below to be lead to The Deal on GoodReads!

24920901

Until next time,

Adele

One thought on “The Deal by Elle Kennedy | Book Review #83

Leave a Reply

