Inherit Midnight by Kate Kae Meyers | Book Review #67

IMG_1504

The Competition
Seventeen-year-old Avery VanDemere’s ridiculously wealthy grandmother has decided to leave the family fortune to the relative who proves him or herself worthiest–by solving puzzles and riddles on a whirlwind race around the globe.
The Contenders
For Avery, the contest offers a chance to escape. As the black sheep of the VanDemere clan–the illegitimate daughter, sent away to boarding school–she’d love to use that prize money to run away from the family who ostracized her . . . and discover the truth about her long-lost mother.

Marshall might be Avery’s uncle by blood, but there’s no love lost between them. He’ll do anything to win, even if it means turning on his own children.
Riley is the charming son of Grandmother VanDemere’s lawyer. As the game progresses, Avery finds herself drawn to him–even though she isn’t quite sure she can trust him.
The Winner?
Treacherous turns in the competition serve as brutal reminders that only one person can win it all. Is Avery willing to risk both her heart and her life to claim the grand prize?

I’ll be honest and say that I wasn’t sure if I would like this book. The synopsis made it sound like there would be a lot of plot holes. Now that I’ve read Inherit Midnight, I can honestly say I had a lot of fun reading this novel. And that the only note that I wrote down about Inherit Midnight was ‘Riley better not fucking betray her in any way OR I WILL KILL HIS ASS!!!‘ 

I quite like the plot of this book. From the moment this book starts, the action just seems to go up from there. Inherit Midnight takes place over a few countries, and I really like that! Where the contest takes the group, we learn a few things about that country as well.

The pacing of the book is nice as well. The story seems to flow effortlessly. So reading Inherit Midnight was easy

character development There are so many characters in this novel, and we see through Avery’s eyes how they choose to treat her. And honestly, most of, if not all, treat her like shit. Like she’s the scum of the Earth. And they honestly have no reason to do such a thing.

Avery has it hard because she’s both bullied in school and by her family. and she doesn’t have a mother or father figure. Sure, she has her grandmother, but the two of them aren’t emotionally close. Avery only has a few people in her life that she’s close to. Avery has honestly lived a privileged, yet hard life. We see how this has affected Avery, and how Avery lives her life. She’s honestly a really strong young girl.

Marshall is a such a freaking DICK in this book. I hate his character so, so much. I honestly have nothing more to say. He IS a dick and ughhh. I just hate his character, and who he is. Even though thats pretty much the same thing.

Riley is cuuuuuute!! Although if he were a real person, I would have to beat him up a little.. He’s there for Avery though, and I guess that’s all that really matters most. They’re both there for each other when they need to be. Anyway, Riley is a key character in this novel, and I really wish that there could’ve been a few chapters in Inherit Midnight from Riley’s point of view. I would’ve really enjoyed seeing Avery and the competition from Riley’s view of things! Aside from all of that, Riley is a great guy for Avery.

All in all, I really enjoyed reading Inherit Midnight. The plot thickened at all the right moments. We see parts of characters that I didn’t think I would ever see, nor Avery would ever get to know. I’m really happy with the turn out of the story! I’m also hoping for maybe a novella, or a 150 page novel, continuing on from the last paragraph of the book?! PLEASE?! I have so much hope for a next part of Avery’s story. Like…how could there not be?!

I want to give a huge thank you to Netgalley, and especially to Bloomsbury USA Children’s Books for allowing me to read an ARC copy!

Thank you so much for reading! You can click the cover below to be led to Inherit Midnight on GoodReads!

22529345

Until next time,
Adele

Leave a Reply

