The Rules by Nancy Holder & Debbie Viguié | Book Review #65

IMG_1281(picture leads to my Instagram account)

Narrated by alternating unreliable narrators, this dark thriller will have readers on the edge of their seats. No one is safe and everyone is a suspect. It’s Saw meets I Know What You Did Last Summer.

Junior Robin Brisset has no idea what she’s in for when she accepts an invitation to one of Callabrese High’s most exclusive parties. And when the trademark scavenger hunt begins, Robin must go against every rule she’s lived by to survive.

There are few things going for this book. The first being the cover and the ominous sentence on the front: “come out, come out… you won’t get too far.” And the rest of the synopsis. Other than that, when I started reading the book I was hugely let down. Sure, the book moves quickly, but there isn’t a sense of character to the book. The main theme to this novel is revenge, and we have -what feels like to me- a million points of view; when we only actually have 6-10(?) views. I put that question mark there because I don’t even know how many views there actually are. 

I couldn’t really get into the novel, as to the differing views and how quickly the views change.  The ways the views change is literally like stop and going really fast in a car. The whole stop-go-stop-go. Whiplash. That’s it! How fast the character’s change is exactly like whip lash. Sometimes I didn’t even know that the points of view changed so I had to reread a lot of parts.

The plot was well planned out, now that I’ve finished the book. While I was reading The Rules though, with all of the differing views, the whole story feels really messy. Which means that I couldn’t really get into it, and I wish I could have! I wasn’t as immersed as I could have been if there were less points of views. Honestly because of all the views, it was hard to get the gist of the story until the later quarter of the book.

I can’t say that the main character is unreliable, because there are too many character views to even have a main character. I found that a few characters aren’t reliable protagonists. It really just seems like there’s a main antagonist in a sea of antagonists.

Even though I didn’t really enjoy reading it, and prefer the ending overall… I found myself reading it to the end when I didn’t really want to. I found the book boring, but I had to find out what happened to one of the characters.

I do like the detail though. And I feel like because we don’t get to know these kids as individuals, I only saw them as a group, that the details -gory or not- make up for the fact that we don’t get personal with any of the characters.

I enjoyed the ending the best to be honest. There is a considerable amount of character development within this one character. If you’ve read this book then you know the ending, and honestly I would react the same way.

Before the ending though, when we find out who was responsible for all of this, I literally thought of that meme. The one where Andy Samberg says “Cool motive, still murder.” Im obviously thinking this with sarcastic thoughts though, because what happened to the person behind it all, what happened to them is horrible. I wouldn’t wish that on anyone. Aside from that though, I was just so done with the book that I said to myself, “cool motive, still murder.” And continued on reading again because I was just so freaking done with this book.

All in all, I wouldn’t read this again. The Rules is scattered all of the place, much like this review. There were only a few things that I liked about this book, and they don’t really relate to the novel at all, and I can’t talk about them because of spoilers.

The cover below will take you to The Rules on GoodReads.

22611701

Thanks for reading!

Until next time,
Adele

 

One thought on “The Rules by Nancy Holder & Debbie Viguié | Book Review #65

Leave a Reply

