End of Days by Susan Ee | Book Review #52

18500665.jpg

‘After a daring escape from the angels, Penryn and Raffe are on the run. They’re both desperate to find a doctor who can reverse the twisted changes inflicted by the angels on Raffe and Penryn’s sister. As they set off in search of answers, a startling revelation about Raffe’s past unleashes dark forces that threaten them all. 

When the angels release an apocalyptic nightmare onto humans, both sides are set on a path toward war. As unlikely alliances form and strategies shift, who will emerge victorious? Forced to pick sides in the fight for control of the earthly realm, Raffe and Penryn must choose: Their own kind, or each other?’

End of Days is the end to a trilogy written by Susan Ee. I love this trilogy. And I’m sorry to see that there won’t be more of this series. But if there were, I’d buy whatever it was up so quickly, you wouldn’t even know that it was there in the first place.

There’s literally so much that happened in this book. There’s also so much that I can’t talk about due to spoilers. I’ll try my best to not spoil anything!

As with any book in a trilogy or series, there are new characters that are introduced in every book. End of Days is no exception. There are a TON of new characters that are introduced. We’ve only seen snippets of them before in the first and second books, and honestly THESE CHARACTERS ARE GREAT. Also, I grieved a character we only saw a little of. I mean, why did it have to end that way?? They had a good death I suppose. Ee wrote that character off so easily though, that I had to reread that whole page just to understand what happened, ahah.

End of Days starts in the exact same way World After ended, but only meer hours after the fact. Which is great because in doing that, the trilogy just seem like one long story, and I love when authors do that.

I have to admit, there are certain connections that some characters have in End of Days. I never thought these connections would be made because I was either skeptical about, or I thought they would never happen. Now that they have though, I am relieved!!

As in World After, we get, I guess you would say, previews into Raffe & Penryn’s life. Just the two of them away from the story, and in End of Days, we see even more of that and I for one, am really glad that we got to see all of it. I’ve begun to really hate the whole “I love you, but we can never be together, for I am centuries older than you.” trope. However, I have to admire it in this trilogy. I’ve grown to love Raffe and Penryn. Both together and apart they are there for each other. Ee has intwined their stories so much so that it would only make sense for them to be together like that.

What I enjoyed about End of Days is that the story also dive into characters stories that I think would have otherwise gone untouched. Almost every character we see and meet in End of Days gets a part of their story told. But not so in a way that reading their story takes away from the actual story. Does that make sense? Their stories were told that actually enhanced the End of Days story. Not many authors can do that, so when Ee did it so seamlessly I was grateful. And now I actually kinda pity the supposed bad guy in this trilogy. Like, why did they have to go down like that..

End of Days has one of the best endings to a series that I’ve read in a long time. I don’t want to get your hopes up, because really, it’s an okay ending after all of what we went through with Penryn. But I myself really love the ending to this trilogy! I love the fact that it ended how it did. The ending just seems super realistic. So I really appreciate that.

Once again Ee has blessed us with her excellent writing. I laughed with joy a lot in this book. I’ve just had a lot of feels happen throughout the tilogy and especially in End of Days. And despite the ominous feel to the book, Ee has somehow made it a really lighthearted book. Now I think I’ve covered everything I wanted to talk about in this review..

If you’ve read the trilogy, how did you find it? I absolutely loved this trilogy and will keep my copies of the books for my life.

Maybe every few years I’ll revisit Penryn and the End of Days. For now though, I’m happy and content to leave Penryn’s story for now.

If you haven’t read my review of Angelfall do so, and if you can read my review of World After here!

Thank you so much for reading!!

Until next time,
Adele

Leave a Reply

