World After by Susan Ee | Book Review #50

17849112

When a group of people capture Penryn’s sister Paige, thinking she’s a monster, the situation ends in a massacre. Paige disappears. Humans are terrified. Mom is heartbroken.

Penryn drives through the streets of San Francisco for Paige. Why are the streets so empty? Where is everybody? Her search leads her into the hearts of the angels’ secret plans where she catches a glimpse of their motivations, and learns the horrifying extent to which the angels are willing to go.

Meanwhile, Raffe hunts for his wings. Without them, he can’t rejoin the angels, can’t take his rightful place as one of their leaders. When faced with recapturing his wings of helping Penryn survive, which will he choose?’

World After is a lot of things. For instance, World After is thrilling. There are parts in this sequel that made me cringe, had me in awe, had me laughing. There are so many emotions following this novel.

The synopsis kinda hints at there being two parts of view, but there isn’t which really suits this story well. I like being focused on Penryn’s view on things. Speaking of Penryn. She is so freaking badass, dude! So there are parts in this book that made me want to read certain scenes over and over again. Which I did.

The world that is World After is certainly a horrifying one, and having your world being invaded by angels and these creatures that the angelsย made is down right freaky.

There are so many aspects to this story!! It’s hard to remember what I want to talk about. I totally forgot to take notes while reading this book. World After starts right after Angelfall ends. You could finish Angelfall and pick up World After, and not worry about the time in-between the two books because there is no in-between time. The start and finish of both books is like going to sleep one night (finishing Angelfall) and waking up to start World After.

World After completely drew me in again (I originally read this book in August 2014). I love the story just as much, if not more. I can come back to this trilogy and just fall right into it. I absolutely love Penryn and Raffe.

I love the action that takes place in this book. I love all the moments that Penryn is a total badass. I feel like Penryn just downs herself a lot. Like, she’ll criticize herself, and then something will happen, and Penryn will be like “You know what? I do deserve to be able to leave unscathed.” and then Penryn will proceed to be awesome.

Another thing that everyone seems to talk about: Pooky Bear. I absolutely love Pooky Bear. I feel though even if Pooky Bear is an inanimate object; she’s an important character. A lot of Penryn’s and Raffe’s story revolves around Pooky Bear.

Re-reading this book made me realize how much I’d actually forgotten about what happened. I completely forgot that I related to some of the stuff Penryn’s said. But also with reading World After again, I got to mark down what parts I liked. There are so many tabs in my copy of World After… it’s almost insane.

You can find World After on GoodReads. I recommend this series to you if you love post-apocalyptic stories!!

Thanks for reading! Until next time,
Adele.

One thought on “World After by Susan Ee | Book Review #50

  1. betwixt-these-pages says:

    Great review! I read World After for the first time a few months ago; I need to read End of Days now, hopefully soon. I LOVE how dark and dangerous this world is–Susan Ee has a wickedly devious imagination, and I adore her writing for it! Thanks so much for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

