Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo | Book Review #44

IMG_2715.jpg

‘Ketterdam: a bustling hub of international trade where anything can be had for the right price–and no one knows that better than criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker. Kaz is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make him rich beyond his wildest dreams. But he can’t pull it off alone…

A convict with a thirst for revenge.

A sharpshooter who can’t walk away from a wager. 

A runaway with a privileged past.

A spy known as the Wraith. 

A Heartrender using her magic to survive the slums. 

A thief with a gift for unlikely escapes. 

Six dangerous outcasts. One impossible heist. Kaz’s crew is the only thing hat might stand between the world and destruction–if they don’t kill each other first.’

We have six criminals, who, are going to attempt to pull off an impossible heist. Aside from that fact, we have six characters who’ve had a rough upbringing. We learn about a little of their stories while reading Six of Crows.

What I knew about this book before reading it was that: 1- everyone in the book community over on tumblr has loved it. 2- the cover is absolutely beautiful in my opinion. So I put it on my birthday wish list, and surprisingly; a friend got it for me! I’m so glad that I received this book as a gift!

I was actually taken aback by this book to be honest! While I was reading about Six of Crows on the internet, the fact that this story was a new edition into the Grishaverse didn’t really click until I had started reading it. Nonetheless, I wasn’t worried about not liking this book; I actually like the Shadow and Bone trilogy.

Six of Crows is a book centered around six strong-willed, seriously stubborn characters who care for each other deeply. — Even if they are unwilling to admit any such thing to each other.

I loved reading Six of Crows! To be honest though, I found it to be a daunting read after being in a slump, haha. Nonetheless, these characters are great. I’m so glad I got to know them!  And yes, they have their flaws, but these are the most human-like characters I’ve read in a long time.

Reading about the Grishaverse again was a great experience. I especially loved reading this book because there were so many point of views. Usually I hate more than one point of view in a book. With Six of Crows, I didn’t mind it at all. To know where all these kids from is pretty amazing, and I can’t wait to read the second book.

With saying that though, I gotta tell you that Six of Crows is a pretty action packed book. It’s pretty much go!go!go! from the start. I don’t mind that at all myself (I actually enjoy books like this), but if you don’t like that, then you’ve been forewarned.

Have you read Six of Crows yet? If you have, what’d you think of it? If you haven’t, are you going to?

If you want to check out Six of Crows on GoodReads, I would suggest you to add this book to your TBR!! Six of Crows isn’t a book you want to miss.

Thanks for reading! Until next time,
Adele

2 thoughts on “Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo | Book Review #44

Leave a Reply

