Cursed by T.L. Brown | Book Review #40

13517067

‘Sometimes the scariest things in life aren’t the Vampires and the Werewolves. Since the dawn of time there have been things God doesn’t want to know about. Which is why he created the Devil’s Roses.

There is a place between worlds where our souls take a moment, before they go to Heaven. It is a quiet place where everything feels as if it has paused.
It is here that Aimee James first meets him.
He is standing over her dead body.
He is more beautiful than anything she has ever seen.
Waking in the hospital after the first attempt is made on her life, Aimee discovers the missing pieces of her memory may have something to do with the one this she does remember. A man.
Not just any man, but a beautiful man who has enchanted her from her dreams. No one else saw him or recalls him, but Aimee isn’t convinced that he doesn’t exist.
From the moment she wakes, she is thrust upon a journey that will contradict everything she holds true in the world and reveal secrets about her mother’s untimely death.
In the end Aimee must choose between life and love, as death is forced upon her once again.’

**Trigger warning: Drugging, Rape, Attempted Rape, Stalking, Attempted Murder & Murder**

This book is one that I have a few problems with. Aside from that, I actually like the story and I’m glad that I re-read it. 

I found this book to be somewhat repetitive in the beginning, but that soon stops – so that’s great. I also didn’t really like the love triangle that was going on. And it wasn’t fair at all to Shane, because he didn’t even know that Aimee was seeing another guy on the side. What makes it even worse is that the guy on the side is an immortal, and he can’t be seen, unless he wants to (or as you read in the book, have had a tragedy happen to you) I’m thinking.

Another thing that bothered me a lot was that the immortal guy, Aleks, is like 643 years old. That just.. UGH. It bothered me so freaking much. Not only is he super freaking old, but he’s also very possessive of Aimee, and, the two of them – Aimee and Aleks – do not have a healthy relationship.

What I do like about this story is the structure. The bones. The main sha-bamb! The main deal is that these characters, once their stories have been told, you soon get to know how they became a Rose. A Devil’s Rose. I think they call themselves the “Roses”, but outsiders call them “The Devil’s Roses.”

The back bone of this series is that there’s this group of people, all with some sort of supernatural powers (I know that in Aimee’s story we get to live her story, and then at the end we get a snippet of her life is like After. And frankly, I really wish Brown focused more on the After than the Before). The main focus of this group is that they get the bad guys. Supernatural bad guys in Aimee’s case. Since I’ve read the second book, I can almost remember what happened but I haven’t re-read that book yet.

There could be a lot of revising that could happen with this first book, Cursed. I think that there was, but I didn’t update my iBook copy, so I can’t be sure.

I remember when I first read this book back when it first came out, that I loved this story. I wanted to read the whole entire series! I only have book 1 and 2, though. I really like the fact that there were this bad guy and good guy complex going on with these two supernatural creatures, and that Aimee became a bad-good person. Bad because she kills people, good because she kills bad people. Does that make sense?

Anyway, thank you for reading my ramblings! If you’re interested at all to check out Cursed on GoodReads, I would suggest you check it out!

Until next time,
Adele

Leave a Reply

