The Sin Eater’s Daughter by Melina Salisbury | Book Review #33

jkt_9780545810623.pdf

I am the perfect weapon. I kill with a single touch.

Twylla is blessed. The Gods have chosen her to marry a prince, and rule the kingdom. But the favour of the Gods has it’s price. A deadly poison infuses her skin. Those who anger the queen must die under Twylla’s fatal touch.

Only Lief, an outspoken new guard, can see past Twylla’s chilling role to the girls she truly is. 

Yet in a court as dangerous and the queen’s some truths should not be told…’

The Sin Eater’s Daughter is a story that is new and fresh. I dont think I’ve ever read something like this before to be honest.. I mean, a young girl who everyone fears because she can kill someone with a single touch. This alone, drew me into the story.

So, what I do before I start reading any book is read what its about, and then write out my predictions. This is what I do for almost every book I read, and Im glad I did it with The Sin Eater’s Daughter. Aside from this book being pretty predictable, I still enjoyed reading and getting to know the characters. 

The story is really good. Very compelling. I couldn’t really properly predict anything; despite what Ive said in the previous paragraph. The Sin Eater’s Daughter has a very interesting story!

And the writing. Holy crap. I couldn’t tell who to trust and who to not trust. It seemed like there were twists and turns at almost every corner of this book (not physically, obviously). But it was so hard to trust someone, because the queen made it so that in the castle, you can’t really trust anyone! So the writing is very convincing. And the characters I did end up trusting! Hmph. I shouldn’t have trusted them at all. I did not expect that last quarter!

The cliffhanger at the end of the book though, holy crap. So freaking good. Like, WAY TO PULL ME IN, Melinda. I fangirl’d and oh my gosh. I hope the second book starts off where this book ended BECAUSE HOW COULD MELINDA NOT? It would be cruel not to.

The characters. Wow. I tried not to get too attached. But Melinda’s writing just seems to somehow get under your skin and then you end up laughing when the characters laugh, cry when the characters cry (I didn’t but still).

Twylla. My little Twylla. She is such a strong character. I mean like, wow. The things that Twylla goes through every single day at the castle. People are scared of her. People fear her. And Twylla has the fear of touching someone unintentionally. Like, that is so cruel. And the queen is cruel to Twylla, too! Its a never ending cycle. Twylla is so emotionally abused by the queen. But then secrets are revealed, and other things happen. Twylla being so emotionally vulnerable, doesnt want to get close to anyone, emotionally, and physically, because of her fear. Somehow the tables turn and Twylla is not scared anymore, and we really see Twylla become a different person.

Im going to stop myself before I spoil the book for you…

Anyway… You can find The Sin Eater’s Daughter on GoodReads. If you have read this book already, what did you think of it?

Thanks for reading! Until next time,
Adele.

Leave a Reply

