Magonia by Maria Dahvana Headley | Book Review #32

21393526

‘Aza Ray is drowning in thin air.

Since she was a baby, Aza has suffered from a mysterious lung disease that makes it ever harder for her to breathe, to speak–to live.

So when Aza catches a glimpse of a ship in the sky, her family chalks it up to a cruel side effect of her medication. But Aza doesn’t think this is a hallucination. She can hear someone on the ship calling her name. 

Only her best friend, Jason, listens. Jason, who’s always been there. Jason, for whom she might have more-than-firendly feelings. But before Aza can consider that thrilling idea, something goes terribly wrong. Aza is lost to our world–and found, by another. Magonia. 

Above the clouds, in a land of trading ships, Aza is not the weak and dying thing she was. In Magonia, she can breathe for the first time. Better she has immense power–and as she navigates her new life, she discovers that war is coming. Magonia and Earth are on the cusp of a reckoning. And in Aza’s hands lies the fate of the whole humanity–including the boy who loves her. Where do her loyalties lie?’

Out of the two predictions I made, only one came true. Thats pretty good! Even though what I predicted was in the synopsis of the book.

One things you need to know about the book: there are two points of view. The first being from the main character, Aza, and the second being Jason, Aza’s best friend. No worries though! There aren’t many of Jason’s chapters. I do need to say though that his chapters are important.

At first I didn’t really like the world’s we were introduced to, and the second (important) world annoyed me so much. There was just something about it that I didn’t like, and I couldn’t put my finger on it. But the more of the book I read, the more I enjoyed the world that Maria has created. Magonia is so new, and its filled to the brim with colour and imagination and even then, the brim overflows. And what you didn’t think could happen ever, happens in this book and gah! Magonia is magical. Just…wow. Its so magical.

When I read Magonia, some of the characters in I couldn’t really picture…and that is problematic for me, personally. It wasn’t the problem of the descriptions. Maria did that wonderfully. I just cant picture the characters from Magonia. But other than that; the rest of the descriptions… Holy crap. The descriptions in this book are great. And oh my god! Im remembering so much as I write this review. Batsails; if you haven’t read this book, they may sound weird to you, but I love them. I love all of the creatures in Magonia. They’re so…unique, and lovely. I want to protect them, forever and ever, okay? Don’t hurt my babies.

Magonia really is a mix of Daughter of Smoke and Bone with The Fault In Our Stars. Speaking of which…. I cried. Yep! I cried. This book made me cry. This never happens when I read books, and the few times it did happen.. Ugly sobs. It was 0 to 10 Ugly-sob-crying, real quick. There’s this part of the book that just killed me, and it was in the first half of the book and wow. I just… wow. Every time I think of that part, I start tearing up.

Magonia has the roller coaster of when things get interesting. With a slow decent and then suddenly we’re catapulted into the air and it seems like everything happens at once. It doesn’t, but it goes from being interesting to holy-crap-i-cant-stop-reading, and that…THAT IS WHEN SHIT. GETS. REAL.

Magonia really does have the potential for a second book. I mean, there are so many loose ends that Maria didn’t really cover, so there has to be a second book, right?! The ending for this book, though…its actually a really sweet ending.

I’m looking forward to the second book!

Here’s a link to Magonia on GoodReads. I really hope you check it out!

Thanks for reading! Until next time,
Adele

5 thoughts on “Magonia by Maria Dahvana Headley | Book Review #32

Leave a Reply

