#ReadWomen

Hello, all! So you may have heard by now (especially if you’re in the booklr community over on tumblr) that there is a new reading challenge happening during the month of December!

The challenge is called #readwomen and how it works is that you only read books written by women for a month. I’ve seen some people extend theirs to see how long they can go without reading a book written by a male author. Which I personally enjoy seeing because I seem to have been only reading female written books for the last while now.

The whole challenge isn’t to degrade men, or tear down their work. The point of this whole challenge is to support female authors and I, for one, am all about supporting females in all aspects of life.

The books I’m going to try to read are 9 books I own, and a few library books that I’ve been meaning to read.. I need to get the library pile down!!!

These are some of the books I want to try to read for sure:

IMG_2733

I sorted these books by size all because I have this thing that when I pile books, the biggest books have to go on the bottom. This pile in no way shape or form is the order in which I plan to read these. Nope, I’m just going to see how I feel when it’s time to pick up a new book!

The first book on the pile is Trust Me, Im Lying by Mary Elizabeth Summer. I recieved this book as a gift from my birthday! I’m looking forward to reading this. Mostly because 1, the book came from australia, and 2 the story is about a girl who runs away and there’s guns and mayhem involved. I shall see how it goes!

The second book in the pile is The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater. Which is the second book to The Raven Boys! I don’t think I’ve said this here, but I’m actually really looking forward to reading this book! I loved The Raven Boys (review to be posted soon), so I’m super excited while also trying to temper that excitement down. There’s nothing like getting pumped for a book and then you’re let down. So I’m lowering my expectations and hoping for the best.

Gates of Thread and Stone by Lori M. Lee is the third book in the pile, and while I’ve had this book for a little while now; I’ve actually had this book on my To Be Read list since I’ve heard about it. Which now seems like forever! This novel is about a girl who is struggling to keep her magic hidden in a time where only one man is supposed to have it.

End of Days by Susan Ee, is the fourth book in the pile, while being the third, and last book in the Penryn and the End of Days trilogy. I’ve been looking forward to reading this book since it came out! If you haven’t heard of the first book in the trilogy, Angelfall, I’m a bit surprised because I’ve raved so much about this trilogy over on my tumblr account. And I reviewed Angelfall a few days ago. Anyway, the series follows an attack on Earth by Angels. Within a few days, hours and by the end of the week, Angels have taken over, and the world as we (and they) knew it, has disappeared. Enter Penryn keeping her family safe, and here falls Raffe. A angel who is being chased by a group of angels that are supposed ot be on his side.

November 9 by Colleen Hoover was pretty much an automatic buy – after I checked if I had enough cash on hand. I’m not totally sure what this book is about, but there’s obviously romance involved since I found this book (and all her other books) in the Romance section of my nearest Chapters. We’ll see how it goes.

Winter by Marissa Meyer is a book that I’ve been kinda dreading for a while. Don’t get me wrong, I love the series. I just want to review them, which means I’ll probably have to reread them.. Not only that though; it doesn’t seem like it, but Winter is nearly 800 pages, and I am not ready for that type of commitment yet. I’ve been told I’ll love this book though, and I’m sure I will!

The Invasion of the Tearling by Erika Johansen, is another book that I’ve had for a while as well. I loved The Queen of the Tearling, and I’ve heard that not many people liked this novel as much as the last. I’m anxious to read this book. Both good and bad anxiousness here, people!

The second to last book that I’m going to read, or in my case, re-read, is A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Mass. I was iffy about this book when I read it the first time, but after finishing the book I was just inlove with everything about this book. If I don’t get around to rereading this book, it won’t be a big deal.

The last book will be The Illustrated: Harry Potter and the Philosophers Stone by JK Rowling. I read HP and the Philosopher’s Stone a while ago (un-illustrated) for the first time and really enjoyed it, so when I found out that the book had become illustrated, I asked my aunt to hopefully buy it for my birthday, and she did! I’m so happy. When I first got my hands on it, I was amazed by all the artwork. Before rereading this, I can absolutely tell you that this book is beautiful!

And last but not least, I plan on reading a few library books. Just to diminish the pile I currently have – because in total, I currently have about 15-20 books out from the library. Yikes! And surprisingly, they’re all written by women! I have no idea what library books I’m going to chose.

I plan on doing an end of the month wrap up / read women final update post. I’ll of course list the books I’ve read, and talk a little about them. I’ve actually already 2 books that aren’t on this list, but in order to know what books, you’ll have to come back at the end of the month!

This leaves us to be at the end of the post! Are you going to participate in the #readwomen challenge?? If so, what do you plan on reading?

Thank you for reading my post! Until next time,
Adele.

Happy Reading!!

 

Leave a Reply

