Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout | Book Review #26

12578077

‘Starting over sucks. 

When we moved to West Virginia right before my senior year, I’d pretty much resigned myself to thick accents, dodge internet access, and a whole lot of boring… until I spotted my hot neighbour, with his looming height and eerie green eyes. Things were looking up.

And then he opened his mouth. 

Daemon is infuriating. Arrogant. Stab-worthy. We do not get along. At all. But when a stranger attacks me and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, well, something… unexpected happens. 

The hot alien living next door marks me. 

You heard me. Alien. Turns out Daemon and his sister have a galaxy of enemies wanting to steal their abilities, and Daemon’s touch has lit me up like the Vegas Strip. The only way I’m getting out of this alive is by sticking close to Daemon until my alien mojo fades. 

If I don’t kill him first, that is.’

First off, you should know; if you don’t know already, that Obsidian is the first book in a five-part series.

Everyone loves this book, and everyone has raved about this book. So when I started reading Obsidian, I was very wary of this book. I didn’t want to jump on the bandwagon at all; even though I wanted to know what exactly this book is about.

Obsidian swept me up within the first paragraph. I’m not kidding you. I was immediately drawn in by Katy. She’s so sassy and sarcastic. She can have down to earth conversations and still have jokes with her mom. Speaking of, we didn’t see much of her mom in this book. But when Katy’s mom was around, it showed that they love each other very much.

Katy is a really great character. I feel like she’s so likeable, because she’s so relatable to real life people. She reads and loves books. She even has a book blog in her book, which is awesome. Katy really does care about her friend, Dee, and even though Dee’s family is untrusting of Katy, Katy doesn’t care about that. She just wants to be Dee’s friend. I know I’m using a lot of “and”’s but all of these thoughts are just pouring in at once! Another thing that I admire about Katy is that she sticks up for herself. She knows what battles to choose. Katy won’t settle for less than what she wants and deserves.

Katy wants whats best for herself romantically. There’s even a paragraph in the book where Katy describes what she wants, and I think that a lot of people should read that paragraph. The paragraph basically explains how she wants to be with Daemon in a romantic way, but because he says: “I’m thinking I kind of do.” [want to be in a relationship with Katy], Katy says no to that. Because she wants to be with someone who *wants* to be with her. She doesn’t want someone who is *thinking* that the *kind of* want to be in a relationship with her. She wants something like her parents had. A happy, loving relationship.

Daemon. Wow. Hot stuff, there, that one. Daemon didn’t have a lot of things going for him in the beginning of the book. He was a dick/douche to Katy and I was so happy when Katy stood up for herself to him. Daemon could also be really sweet and considerate between his and Katy’s obvious differences. Daemon though, was really two faced. He’s also very hard to read at times, and Katy says this herself, too. I mean, it’s so obvious that Daemon has some serious feelings for Katy. We witness this a handful of times in the book.

Obsidian’s story moves so quickly though! And steamy. Holy crap, is the connection between Daemon and Katy hot and heavy. Whoo! *fans self* Daemon is the hot bad boy and Katy is the new girl from next door. Armentrout has taken an old type of story and turned it into something I don’t think I’ve read before. The story is dramatic, but not in the way you may think. The drama is really only between Daemon and Katy. Something I didn’t really appreciate (but is *so* Katy) is that Obsidian pretty much ends in the middle of a scene. I still love the book though.

I found some small things to be bothersome in this book though. The thing that is sticking out most in my mind is that when I look back on the book, I remember a part of the story when it seemed like the author had written the story, but had interjected and just written on top of that story. It was like a sudden flashback but it wasn’t a flashback? I don’t know, it just seemed like that interjection didn’t belong.

Obsidian is seriously awesome. This first book is a great introduction to these characters that I’ve grown to love. I’m super excited to read the next book, Onyx!

Have you read the Lux series yet? Have you even read Obsidian, yet? If not, you can check out Obsidian on GoodReads!

Thanks for reading. Until next time,
Adele.

Leave a Reply

