Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs | Book Review #23

9460487

‘A mysterious Island. An abandoned orphanage. A strange collection of curious photographs. 

A horrific family tragedy sets sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores its abandoned bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that the children were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may have been quarantined on a deserted island for good reason. And somehow–impossible though it seems–they may still be alive.’

I found that the book didn’t really live up to it’s reputation. Everyone raves about this book being creepy and scare-the-shit-out-of-you scary. I was only grossed out 3 times while reading this so to me this story was pretty much like any other. I didn’t find there to be anything special about the plot. And yeah, the characters are cool and all. The story still held my attention, and I flew through the book. There were some parts that I found to be particularly predictable, though. While some of the parts in the book I found myself rolling my eyes at, and there were times where I was on the edge of my seat needing to know what would happen.

There’s no denying though, that there’s a part of me that flew through the book. Like I’ve said above: I flew through the book. The story moves really fast, but also slows down and lets some moments live their glory days. Riggs pays attention to detail in the right moments. He knows when to move along, and when to focus on something.

Some may disagree with me, but I was perfectly fine with not continuing on to read Hollow City. Meaning; I feel strongly that you could read Miss Peregrine’s as a stand alone.

If you haven’t read about the first book of the trilogy, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, on GoodReads yet – you can do so here!

Have you read this book yet? If you have, what did you think of the story??

Thanks for reading! Until next time,
Adele.

 

Leave a Reply

