The Archived by Victoria Schwab | Book Review #20

Imagine a place where the dead rest on shelves like books.

Each body has a story to tell, a life seen in pictures only Librarians can read. The dead are called Histories, and the cast realm in which they rest is the Archive. 

Da first brought Mackenzie Bishop here four years ago, when she was twelve years old, frightened but determined to prove herself. Now Da is dead, and Mac has grown into what he once was: a ruthless Keeper, tasked with stopping often violent Histories from waking up and getting out. Because of her job, she lies to the people she loves, and she knows fear for what it is: a useful tool for staying alive. 

Being a Keeper isn’t just dangerous–it’s a constant reminder of those Mac has lost, Da’s death was hard enough, but now that her little brother is gone too, Mac starts to wonder about the boundary between living and dying, sleeping and waking. In the Archive, the dead must never be disturbed. And yet, someone is deliberately altering Histories, erasing essential chapters. Unless Mac can piece together what remains, the Archive itself may crumble and fall.’

Ive heard so many great things about this book. Ive heard that its: creative, new & fun, interesting, and a great read. Ive also heard that I’d love this book.

While ‘The Archived’ is interesting and a really good book, I felt like I had been let down a lot. And most of the time I felt that this book was really boring. People claimed that this book was the next big hit. And maybe because it was drilled into my head by so many people that The Archived is amazing, it just fell flat for me. Don’t get me wrong, I still enjoyed the book. The plot has some really great parts to it. The overall story though, just really didn’t do anything for me.

The story is well thought out and very well paced. Everything seems to fall into place seamlessly. And the characters in this book are great.

The way that Schwab has this book set up, is pretty cool. A girl who can seemingly walk through walls when she finds the right cracks in the surface? This fact just makes all these old building around the world way more interesting. The settings in this book are really well thought out, too. I loved it when Mackenzie went to the Archive. Seriously, the best parts.

The Archived takes place in the present but the MC; Mackenzie, has strong ties to her past and therefor has a lot of flashbacks. Mackenzie has been tested pretty much all her life. And with these new emotional times that she and her family face, she still seems to stand strong when all she wants to do is break down and let her feelings out. Mackenzie isn’t really described as a “normal pretty girl” and instead she’s described as a girl who is like any other. Except this girl has powers, and a lot of scars on her body. I like the fact that the Mackenzie has a ton of scars on her body because I have a ton of scars on my body, so I could really relate to her on that front.

I like Mackenzie’s character, but I wish that we had gotten to know Wes better. As the reader, I can only hope for that in the second book, we learn more about Wes and his story.

And I was blindsided! There was a plot twist that I didn’t even see coming! It made the story a little easier to like but the characters who pulled it off MAKE ME ANGRY.

If I get the chance to read the second book, I might read it. Maybe in a year or so. If you are interested in reading The Archived, you can find it here on GoodReads.

Thanks for reading. Until next time,
Adele.

2 thoughts on “The Archived by Victoria Schwab | Book Review #20

  1. Accio Books says:

    Great review. I’m sorry all of the hype may have given you different expectations or the book. I really liked it, but I like it mostly for the tone of the book. It feels a little darker than a lot of YA I come across, but maybe that’s just me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

