White Space by Ilsa J. Bick | Book Review #18

18007632

‘Seventeen-year-old Emma Lindsay has problems: a head full of metal, no parents, a crazy artist for a guardian whom a stroke has turned into a vegetable, and all those times when she blinks away, dropping into other lives so ghostly and surreal it’s as if the story of her life bleeds into theirs. But one thing Emma has never doubted is that she’s real. 

Then she writes “White Space,” a story about these kids stranded in a spooky house during a blizzard.

Unfortunately, “White SPace” turns out to be a dead ringer for part of an unfinished novel by a long-dead writer. The manuscrpit, which she’s never seen, is a loopy Matrix and Inkheart story in which characters fall out of different books and jump off the page. Thing is, when Emma blinks, she might be doing the same and, before long, she’s dropped into the very story she thought she’d written. Trapped in a weird, snow-choked valley, Emma meets other kids with dark secrets and strange abilities: Eric, Casey, Bode, Rima, and a very special little girl, Lizzie. What they discover is that they–and Emma–may be nothing more than characters written into being from an alternative universe for a very specific purpose. 

Now what they must uncover is why they’ve been brought to this place–a world between the lines where parallel realities are created and destroyed and nightmares are written–between someone pens their end.’

I don’t even know how to begin to describe this book. My thoughts both come up blank and, are all over the place.
I found that while reading this book, some of it was really predictable. What really drew me in though, was the first page, in all its creepy glory. That drew me in right away. After that though, the book was really hard to get into and fell flat. I read on though and learned that there were multiple point of views.

I am so glad that there were so many point of views because, through Emma’s POV I actually remembered that I was reading it. I always felt like I was an outsider when reading it. Very rarely, did I ever feel like I was zeroed in on the characters. The book itself kind of feels like a psychological book; it was very confusing.

What I thought was the ending, would’ve been a great ending. But what I thought was the ending, was not, so the story dragged on even more.

If I do decide to read the second book, I will be getting it through a library. AND, if I do decide to read further into this story it will only be for Eric and Casey’s story.
If you decide to pick up this book, let me tell you one thing for you to remember while reading it:
Everything is not as it seems to be.

That being said, I really did not like White Space. This is the first book that Ive read by Isla J Bick, and I honestly dont know if I would ever read any of their books. I dont like Isla’s writing style, and how she wrote out White Space. White Space is one of the novels that I hated so much, I had to finish it.

Have you read White Space?? If you have, what are your thoughts on it? If you haven’t read this book, you can check out White Space on GoodReads.

Thanks for reading. Until next time,
Adele.

One thought on “White Space by Ilsa J. Bick | Book Review #18

Leave a Reply

