ARC – Portraits of Celina by Sue Whiting | Book Review #2

Portraits of Celina

*****Portraits of Celina contains a Kidnapping scene*****

Make him pay, Bayley. Make him pay.

“It’s as if the wooden chest is luring me, urging me to open it — daring me almost. Open me up. Look inside. Come on, just for a second; it won’t hurt.”

Celina O’Malley was sixteen years old when she disappeared. Now, almost forty years later, Bayley is sleeping in Celina’s room, wearing her clothes, hearing her voice. What does Celina want? And who will suffer because of it?

A ghost story. A love story. A story of revenge.’

I received a copy of this book through netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

I have no idea how Whiting composed a story that involved a ghost, revenge, and love into one novel so seamlessly, but she has done it. And very well I might add. Once you start reading, the story just seems to lift off the pages. While I read the book and the story just seemed to be so visual that I was expecting to look up and see all of this play out in front of my eyes. The writing in this book is vivid.

For the most part, Portraits of Celina isn’t predictable. There are definitely some parts that I saw coming a mile away and some parts I only saw coming just before it almost happened. I did get the big ringer though! The plot kept me on my toes. There were so many twists and turns in this book, that I almost lost what was happening. My mind couldn’t keep up with the book!

Now, if you know me from my other blog, you know; because I say this a lot, I can’t find any books that really scare the bejesus out of me. And while Portraits of Celina didn’t give me that reaction, there were undoubtedly creepy parts. So if you like Creepy books then this one is for you!

I ended up giving this book 4 out of 5 stars. I gave this book 4 stars because as much as I like this book, its not my favourite. Portraits of Celina does have its faults!

Thank you to Switch Press for allowing me to read this book; via Netgalley!

Thanks for reading! Until next time,
Adele.

Leave a Reply

