A Madness So Discreet by Mindy McGinnis | Book Review #4

*****This novel contains: Incestuous Rape & Murder.***** 

‘Grace Mae knows madness. 

She keeps it locked away, along with her voice, trapped deep inside a brilliant mind that cannot forget horrific family secrets. Those secrets, along with the bulge in her belly, land her in a Boston insane asylum.

When her voice returns in a burst of violence, Grace is banished to the dark cellars, where her mind is discovered by a visiting doctor who dabbles in the new study of criminal psychology. With her keen eyes and sharp memory, Grace will make the perfect assistant at crime scenes. Escaping from Boston to the safety of an ethical Ohio asylum, Grace finds friendship and hope, hints of a life she should have had. But gruesome nights bring Grace and the doctor into the circle of a killer who stalks young women. Grace, continuing to operate under the cloak of madness, must hunt a murderer while she confronts the demons in her own past.

In this beautifully twisted historical thriller, Mindy McGinnis, explores the fine line between sanity and insanity, good and evil–and the madness that exists in all of us.’

I had an inkling of what to expect in this book, before reading it, but now that I have read it, I really don’t know what to think aside from the fact that I find this book to be absolutely brilliant.

A Madness So Discreet is the first book that I’ve read by Mindy McGinnis. And let me tell you, her writing is awesome. The descriptions were spot on, and everything flowed effortlessly.

A Madness So Discreet is a Historical Thriller. Which by the way, I don’t read this genre often, so you can (hopefully) sense my iffy-ness towards this book. The protagonist; Grace, who has had a horrible life at home is now living in an asylum. There are some really rough subjects in this book. Things that are inconceivable happen in this book. Yet, the way everything happened turned Grace into the young woman she is in this novel.

A thing that usually bothers me with historical themes in novels is the slang; I usually can’t look past all the slang. In A Madness So Discreet, Grace is surrounded with people who use slang, or rather, harsh accents, but I was still able to read the book really well considering. I actually like the slang used in this novel and the details in this book are great as well. McGinnis doesn’t focus too much on the details; and I think that would be much to Grace’s dismay.

What I love about A Madness So Discreet, though is that all of the characters are very unique. I love that book has this darkness to it, and I absolutely love the ending! All the characters had an ending, and the bad guy got what he deserves! I am truly a sucker for stories that have their bad guys put away. I’m also a sucker for stories that have happy endings, and books that have a nice resolution to them.

When I finished this novel, I was left with a feeling of peace. The character has a happy ending, considering everything, and if McGinnis wanted to, she could absolutely add onto this novel! (And I would love to read it!!!)

If you’re looking for a book that doesn’t really focus (or have any) romance, then this may interest you! Beware, though, that A Madness So Discreet contains Incestuous Rape, and Murder.

Have you read A Madness So Discreet? If not, you can find A Madness So Discreet on GoodReads.

Thanks for reading! Until next time,
Adele.

4 thoughts on “A Madness So Discreet by Mindy McGinnis | Book Review #4

  1. dbeautyb says:

    I just received this in my OwlCrate last month! Can’t wait to read it. Looks creepy. Followed you as well, I do book reviews and whatnot on my blog too, you should check it out 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

